Spritz Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
DO: try these cookies. They are pretty tasty once done! But if you have never made spritz cookies unsupervised or are a relative novice at "fancy" baking, learn from my epic fail and: DON'T sniff the flavor bottles. I wanted 3 different colors with 3 different flavors, and thought I would revel in every moment of this magical Christmas-cookie-making adventure by breathing in the imitation strawberry (which, come to think of it, was probably 20 years old anyway). Avoid the fume headache. DON'T hand mix if you can help it, unless you were already planning on knocking out an upper body workout, anyway. DON'T put the dough in the fridge for too long. Maybe a little bit to help stiffen it for a clean press, but don't leave it in there for a half day while you finish your last minute shopping, thinking you are all clever and a good time manager. You'll come home to solid bricks. DON'T assume you will have natural instinct on how to artfully and effectively use the cookie press. DON'T expect your experience will replicate the fairy-tale memories you had of making the same cookies in your Mom's kitchen when you were five. My cookies were the most hideous things I had ever spawned from my kitchen, and no amount of sprinkles and slivered maraschino cherries could camouflage the truth. I was almost sad enough to tear up a little bit, until I tasted them... and then it was okay. That's why, even after the long string of don'ts, I still recommend you give them a try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Just tried this recipe. Very good and easy to use. Didnt think this year I was going to make Christmas cookies....just one of those lazy years. But Im very happy I did. I parted the dough in 3 sections, colored 1 red and 1 green and rolled the three together. They came out adorable. Not bad for someone who was going to be bah humbug to cookies this year lol lol Merry Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k_dog
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I found these to be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very nice cookie. not to strong a flavor very understated and great to eat. i made them for a party and they were placed out on a table with 4 other spriz cookie trays. these were the last ones put out and the first ones gone. they work best when made with a cookie press as this will allow you to make them uniform and uniform cookies always bake better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I just received a cookie press for my birthday and this is the first recipe I have made with it. The cookies are delicious, and very easy to make. Total cookies was about 7 dozen. Very tasty, and I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These were very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Best recipe for Spritz cookies that I have found. Great tasting cookie and the dough is good consistency to place inside cookie press. Only thing is, my cookie press stopped working half way through. I have two, a battery operated one and a manual. I couldn't get either one to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have been making Spritz cookies for 10+ years and have used several different recipes, and finally found my favorite one a couple of years ago, but couldn't find it this year :( So I thought I would try this one... It is amazing. So simple to make, and worked so well in my cookie press. I added a little bit of Almond extract to the recipe tho, and they taste Fabulous!!! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Isanti, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Wonderful! Reduced flour to 2 1/4 cup and increased vanilla by 1/2 teaspoon. Dough squeezed thru press beautifully! Very simple and great buttery flavor....thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The cookies are great, but the pan I put on the lower rack of my oven, the cookies burnt. Thats ok, because I learned from my mistake and made a new great batch after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States