Spritz Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These were a hit with my visiting friend when I made them for a baby shower tea using the heart disc of the cookie press. Very quick, very buttery. All the ladies loved them. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe, used real butter but the dough was too heavy to use with my cookie press. After adding sone water to make the dough easier to manipulate it worked ok. I would use again but add less flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Just like my great-grandmother's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Easy and great for my cookie press. So much easier then the traditional holiday cookie dough you have to refrigerate for hours before using :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Good little cookie. Seems like the bottoms always darken first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I used this recipe to try out my new cookie press and it made it very easy! One of my huge reservations about spritz cookies is that they often call for so much butter, and I'm too cheap to part with four sticks in one recipe! lol But yes, this one worked perfectly, and I ended up with a generous amount of perfectly sized butter cookies in the end. I even bumped it up a bit with one batch by adding a pinch of salt, about two teaspoons of grated orange zest and I used about 1 cup of sugar to yield a sweeter cookie (and combat a bit too generous of a salt pinch). The extra sugar probably isn't crucial but I recommend the zest! It opens up a ton of flavour possibilities and these cookies were MUCH less time consuming than other holiday cookies I've tried. These will definitely make it into the cookie tins this December as well as all year round! :) ETA: my cookie press BROKE in the middle of a batch of these, and I just patted the dough flat and cut out with a small star-shaped cookie cutter! They held their shape and were very cute, kind of a shortbread texture and pretty lovely. I will hang onto this recipe even now that I don't have a cookie press at my disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
DO: try these cookies. They are pretty tasty once done! But if you have never made spritz cookies unsupervised or are a relative novice at "fancy" baking, learn from my epic fail and: DON'T sniff the flavor bottles. I wanted 3 different colors with 3 different flavors, and thought I would revel in every moment of this magical Christmas-cookie-making adventure by breathing in the imitation strawberry (which, come to think of it, was probably 20 years old anyway). Avoid the fume headache. DON'T hand mix if you can help it, unless you were already planning on knocking out an upper body workout, anyway. DON'T put the dough in the fridge for too long. Maybe a little bit to help stiffen it for a clean press, but don't leave it in there for a half day while you finish your last minute shopping, thinking you are all clever and a good time manager. You'll come home to solid bricks. DON'T assume you will have natural instinct on how to artfully and effectively use the cookie press. DON'T expect your experience will replicate the fairy-tale memories you had of making the same cookies in your Mom's kitchen when you were five. My cookies were the most hideous things I had ever spawned from my kitchen, and no amount of sprinkles and slivered maraschino cherries could camouflage the truth. I was almost sad enough to tear up a little bit, until I tasted them... and then it was okay. That's why, even after the long string of don'ts, I still recommend you give them a try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Just tried this recipe. Very good and easy to use. Didnt think this year I was going to make Christmas cookies....just one of those lazy years. But Im very happy I did. I parted the dough in 3 sections, colored 1 red and 1 green and rolled the three together. They came out adorable. Not bad for someone who was going to be bah humbug to cookies this year lol lol Merry Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k_dog
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I found these to be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very nice cookie. not to strong a flavor very understated and great to eat. i made them for a party and they were placed out on a table with 4 other spriz cookie trays. these were the last ones put out and the first ones gone. they work best when made with a cookie press as this will allow you to make them uniform and uniform cookies always bake better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States