Springtime Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I didn't want the zucchini to turn to mush or the garlic to burn before the carrots were done so I gave them a headstart in the pan. I added a bit of salt and used dry dill weed instead of fresh. My husband said he would eat this ANYTIME! Paired it with the Lemon Garlic Tilapia from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used this as a base to make a clean out the fridge pasta dish. I doubled the amount of vegetables and added an onion. To make it healthier I used whole wheat pasta, margarine, and fat free milk. Salt and pepper really make this amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was great and the family enjoyed it. I did as the other reviewer and sauteed the carrots, some sweet onion and mushrooms for a bit before adding in the garlic and zucchini. I also added more garlic as we like a lot of garlic. Used 1/2 & 1/2 cream. May add a bit more cream next time, but was very happy overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasonedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
VERY GOOD BUT NEEDS MORE! i doubled the recipe for a main course and what i did (since i think BIG zuch's are nasty) is i used 2 small green and 2 small yellows, also added a choped onion, a julienned red bell pepper and stalk of broccoli cut into pieces. also i added a little italian seasoning to keep the dill in check but still noticeable. AND FOR THE KICKER- i pan seared some already cooked, deveined and shelled frozen shrimp in some butter and a dash of white wine to top the dish, let me know what you think if anyone tries it this way :) SLAINTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seth1981

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious and easy! I left out the dill because I didn't have it, added half of a diced onion and doubled the garlic. I sauteed the carrots for five minutes before adding the zucchini. I only had half a cup of cream, so I supplemented with whole milk. The only thing I'll do differently in the future is make more sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
this was great! i added just a tish more cheese and cream to make a bit more because we like alot of sauce...i thought the dill was an odd choice but it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I make this same dish frequently except I add more vegetables, including snow peas (sliced lengthwise into thin strips), regular frozen peas, frozen corn, shredded carrot, zuchinni and summer squash (quartered lengthwise and sliced) - I like the veggies to showcase the pasta, not vice versa - it makes it more filling in a healthier way. I use a full cup of heavy cream, the butter and chives (dried are fine) instead of dill and I add a little minced garlic. Oh, and I just add the vegetables to the pasta for the last 5 minutes or so of cooking instead of sauteeing separately. I make the sauce in a separate small pan then toss all together. Delicious! Kind of like a primavera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Great by itself but my advice is to add some crumbled cooked bacon or pancetta - it makes this dish really sing! I like the way the jullienne veggies pair with a string pasta (I used vermicelli.) Nice recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bferris19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA
Living In: Kirklyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Didnt follow the recipe, tailored it to empty out my vegetable bin. I used the carrots and added some broccoli, fresh mushrooms, a small onion, forgot about the garlic!, and subbed Half and Half with some 1/2% milk, dried dill, and sprinkled shredded cheese on top. Delicious! Next time, I will remember to add garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
A nice, easy recipe for when you want something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States