Springtime Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I omitted the black olives and added sliced carrots. Those were my only changes. This seemed like the base of a pasta salad. I would have liked more vegetables, some grape tomatoes, some herbs in the dressing and some lemon juice. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 16, March 2013 ~ My family loves cold pasta salad, with any type of dressing. I had high hopes for this one, as we really enjoy cucumbers. I did omit the olives as we don’t care for them, and I had very small English cucumbers, so I just sliced them thin and left the skins on. The dressing was pretty thick and it soaked up quickly in pasta. We only waited about an hour to eat this once made. The family liked it the night we ate it, but we had to add additional dressing to the leftovers as it was a little dry. Not bad, and I will try it again. Might add a little vinegar to thin the dressing a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. I left out the olives since I don't like them. By suppertime the salad was really dry, and I doubled the dressing to start. It was just too bland for us. I resurrected it by dousing in Ranch dressing, added some grape tomatoes and McCormicks Salad Supreme. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made this pasta salad for the Buzz Recipe Group selection. While this was an easy recipe to prepare, the different ingredients just did not blend and suit our taste. It is very creamy and the cucumber is very noticeable. I served it on individual plates of spring mixed greens along with grilled hamburgers. Thanks NCO-s wife for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...This was just ok for us. I really feel that there is something missing, but not sure what. Also, I made this earlier in the day, and by time dinner rolled around, it was a bit on the dry side. Only 1 out of 3 kids ate this, and hubby said it needed more flavor...I agree. This was nice to try for something different, and I may play around w/ it a bit to suit my family's tastes. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this for Recipe Group. I forgot to salt my pasta as it cooked and am very glad I made that mistake as this was a little salty for my taste. Next time, I will use garlic powder instead of garlic salt. As the submitter suggested, I used light mayo and light sour cream. I also omitted the olives because I don't care for them. Because the volume was less, I sparingly added the dressing and am glad I did. This is a good basic recipe to which more veggies like carrots and green peppers could be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Made for recipe group. Very tasty, creamy and a keeper. The olives did the trick for me. I wouldn't change a thing. I would double for bringing to a picnic. I did use fresh dill as it didn't say so I assumed. Overall Refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this for recipe group today. I thought I had everything for this until I started to put it together. I couldn't find my dry mustard anywhere, so I used a 1/2 tsp prepared mustard, and I found out I was out of garlic salt which was an omen, because it was PLENTY salty enough (I just added a 1/4 tsp of plain garlic powder instead). The cucumber was definitely detectable and I used a small one. This was very creamy, so I'm thinking I could have added more pasta, since we were eating right away, or it would be a good make ahead salad as I don't think it would dry out too much over night. Anyway, I think it's a nice change from the traditional salads of this sort that use Italian-style dressing and since I've never used a sour cream/mayo base in a pasta salad before, I must admit I was pleasantly surprised how well they work together. I would suggest adding some chopped tomato and crumbled bacon though to make it five stars:)...that's what I ended up doing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States