Springtime Citrus Cooler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This is a light, refreshing drink that would pair well with any food. To avoid the possibilty of bitternessfrom the tea, I added a pinch of baking soda,a tip from the recipe for amooth sweet tea also on allrecipes. I found it much tastier the next day than when freshly made, as the orange had more time to infuse into the liquid, making the rosewater less dominant. I will definitely be using this recipe over the summer months as a way to stay hydrated. Thanks for the different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made this minus the rose water and subbing Splenda for the sugar. As a tea, I wouldn't give this many stars. As a flavored water, it would get 5 stars. The tea flavor isn't very strong, but it is a pleasant way to get more water in. I definitely plan to make this again adding the rose water to see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was ok, I didn't care for the rose water in it and it was too sweet for my tastes. I probably wouldn't make it again unless I just put a slice of orange into some unsweetened ice tea. Thanks for submitting this recipe, it was definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
It took a little while for this to grow on me. I made it exactly as written, even using the optional rose water (I found this recipe mainly because I had some I needed to use up). My big addition, though, is that this needs time to develop. Maybe there should even be a step 2, to let it sit for 12 hours, or a day, or even more. I had my first glass almost immediately after making a batch, and thought it weak, with a prominent rose flavor. Plus the fact that it wasn't chilled didn't help much. That pitcherful lasted for 4 days, I think, and the last couple of glasses tasted great, with much more orange flavor. (I'm not enough of a tea connoisseur to care much about the Earl Grey flavors.) A bonus is that after the liquid is all gone, the orange slices make nice dessert-time snacks. I have another batch of this in the fridge as I write....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Like a lot of us, I don't drink enough water and for me that is directly related to the fact that I'm just not a plain water fan. So in an effort to drink more water I've been trying a number of creative ways to flavor it - and this caught my eye. It is mild and delicate enough to drink with meals as you would water, but still has enough flavor and interest to drink in its own right as a refreshing beverage. I only steeped the tea bag for three minutes, not wanting the slightest bit of bitterness, and used Splenda rather than sugar. I found the orange to be a nice contrast to the lemon one would typically expect. The rose water was an interesting and pleasant addition and the one teaspoon was just the right amount. I was happy to find another use for the bottle of it I have in the cupboard! In addition to being delicious, refreshing and a great way to up my water intake, this is quite pretty too, especially served in a clear glass pitcher. No reason at all to limit this "Springtime Citrus Cooler" to springtime. I plan to have this in the fridge regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Three words...Simple, subtle, sublime... This is wonderful! I bought rose water and wanted to try different recipes with it. The only thing I did differently was to substitute artificial sweetener for the sugar. It's light, but not too watery. It doesn't taste like Earl Grey, yet it doesn't taste like orange either. You'll just *have* to try it! The rose water is so fragrant and really adds to it. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Oh my god. This is good. I expected this to have a stronger flavor when I made it, but I love how subtle the flavors are. And I bet you can make it with less water if you do want a stronger tea. I made it with blood oranges and squeezed a bit of the juice in which gave it a beautiful color. Update--I've made this countless times in the last month, and it's always a hit when I serve it. One thing to watch out for though, don't steep the tea excessively or it leaves a slightly bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Lovely, light, and refreshing. The rose water adds a lot to the drink, so don't leave it out if you're able to get your hands on it! I used half of the sugar because my orange was extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This makes a delicious hot tea also! I have been looking for recipes with rose water and fleurs d'oranger. Thanks for a lovely tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States