Springfield Style Cashew Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
It's next to impossible to find a restaraunt worthy cashew chicken. I couldn't tell you how many recipes we've went through to finally find this one. Omitting the salt I do have to agree with, the soy sauce has more than enough. And we like our sauce a little bit thicker so we used more cornstarch (always mix your cornstarch in cold water first it will be lumpy if you add it straight to the hot sauce). Making the chicken is more that half the battle so when i'm craving it on a work night I pull out the precooked, unbreaded diced chicken meat from the freezer, fry it in some soy sauce and whalla :) 15 minute meal for our busy busy weeks. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Very yummy, taised like carry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Having grown up in Springfield, the home of every type of chinese cuisine,(every business that goes under a new chinese place is born) THIS IS EXCELLENT!!! I have used a recipe for years but the sauce was not the right stuff! This one is!!! The recipe does not specify but you should fry the chicken pieces in peanut oil. Thanks Brad, this one is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This is the best!I never thought I would see a recipe like this! I went to college in Springfield and always wanted to make this for my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
The sauce has a Super taste! Not too bitter or too sweet. When I double breaded in the past, I never waited ~ This time I did like the recipe said to do and WOW the nuggets turned out wonderful. ~GREAT TIP!!! The breading stayed on and only a little bit remained in the fryer (The only changes I made to this recipe were:I added corn starch to the flour and I used peanut oil to fry in a deep fryer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKSWNN
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Thank you Brad!!! I initially thought it was a bit too salty, so I have left all of the actual salt out of the recipt ... there is enough Soy & Oyster sauce sodium for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I love going to Springfield for cashew chicken because it is the only place I know of that you can get it like this. This was a very good version. A bit labor intensive but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
"A bit labor intensive but totally worth it." - My sentiments exactly, but SO totally worth it!! I've been jonesing for a Springfield cashew chicken fix for over a year now and last night I just got down and dirty and made this recipe. I used 2 Knorr chicken bouillon cubes (they're larger than other kinds) to the 4 cups of water. It turned out *so* good...I'll probably eat some for breakfast this morning! LOL Seriously, you have to try this recipe - especially if you've never had Springfield-style cashew chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I move to MI from MO about a year ago & have been so frustrated anytime I go to a Chinese restaurant and order Cashew Chicken - it is never what I had growing up. This is exactly what I've been looking for. We've made it twice already & will never try to order Chinese out (at least up here) again. THANK YOU SO MUCH! note: I was told to add the cornstarch to the water while it's cold and stir it in really good, then boil to prevent clumping, works great! A+++++++++++++ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany0424
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I have lived in Springfield pretty much all of my life, and this recipe is GREAT!!! I did make a few changes though, after seeing people thought it was too salty (I can't stand salty stuff!!). I used low sodium chicken bouillon cubes, I omitted the salt the recipe called for, and used 1 Lb. of chicken... and it turned out wonderful!!! My husband and I thought it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States