Springfield Style Cashew Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Having grown up in Springfield, the home of every type of chinese cuisine,(every business that goes under a new chinese place is born) THIS IS EXCELLENT!!! I have used a recipe for years but the sauce was not the right stuff! This one is!!! The recipe does not specify but you should fry the chicken pieces in peanut oil. Thanks Brad, this one is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Brad, thanks so much for this recipe. My 3 sisters and I have been working on a good recipe for cashew chicken after eating it weekly for 15 years or so I miss it and have to travel home to get it at least once a year. And Mexican Villa too. haha We were using way too much oyster sauce yours is right on. You would think people would realize it is supposed to be salty hence the 8 b. cubes, soy sauce and oyster sauce. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKSWNN
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Thank you Brad!!! I initially thought it was a bit too salty, so I have left all of the actual salt out of the recipt ... there is enough Soy & Oyster sauce sodium for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
THE ONLY GOOD EXPERIENCE I HAD IN SPRINGFIELD WAS EATING THE CASHEW CHICKEN! THIS RECIPE WAS REALLY CLOSE, BUT A LITTLE TOO SALTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This is the best!I never thought I would see a recipe like this! I went to college in Springfield and always wanted to make this for my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I've made this so many times and my hubby will eat it for days on end. Perfect for those who don't like all the veggies that come in Chinese food. Since the sauce is seperate you can add as much or little as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
The sauce has a Super taste! Not too bitter or too sweet. When I double breaded in the past, I never waited ~ This time I did like the recipe said to do and WOW the nuggets turned out wonderful. ~GREAT TIP!!! The breading stayed on and only a little bit remained in the fryer (The only changes I made to this recipe were:I added corn starch to the flour and I used peanut oil to fry in a deep fryer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
will do again next time i will cook chicken and make the sauce as the recipe calls for but i will put the chicken directly in the sauce and let the chicken soak up more of the sauce that way the chicken needed more of the sauce taste to it then i will pour this over some white rice i added the rice we think it was a good add to this recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Very yummy, taised like carry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany0424
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I have lived in Springfield pretty much all of my life, and this recipe is GREAT!!! I did make a few changes though, after seeing people thought it was too salty (I can't stand salty stuff!!). I used low sodium chicken bouillon cubes, I omitted the salt the recipe called for, and used 1 Lb. of chicken... and it turned out wonderful!!! My husband and I thought it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States