Springfield Style Cashew Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
We tried this recipe, pretty much as is, today, and my boyfriend, a born and bred Springfield native, gave it two thumbs up lifted high. In fact, we both enjoyed it so much that we overindulged resulting in a food coma nap-a-thon, but there are worse problems to have! In short, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made this last night and it was fabulous!!! I read previous reviewers' comments and omitted the salt altogether, and I honestly didn't miss it! I also steamed broccoli on the side and put some of the sauce on it...so YUMMY!!! Definitely making this the next time I'm craving cashew chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Caruthers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is a very good start, however I found it way too salty so next time I am going to back off on the bouillon. This was liked by everybody in my family & that is a tall order. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gen 49:20
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I do have to make one very important suggestion. The sauce seemed to be lacking an important flavor...SESAME OIL! A little drizzle stirred in at the end really made it authentic "Springfield Style". Honestly, it wouldn't have been the same without it. Oh, and I garnished w/ green onion. I'll definitely be making this again...the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen 49:20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I am so very excited to have come accross this!!! I have only been out of the Springfield area for about 9 months and am going into withdrawl! I stupidly ordered cashew chicken from our local chinese place and was so sad to see what I got. Now all we need is a Mexican Villa burrito enchilada style and our home will be set. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Eberra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this last night. I used 2 tblsp oyster sauce (because who wants to measure 1/3 tblsp?) Also I used 1 box of chicken broth and added 2 cubes of chicken bullion to it. With the changes I made it tasted exactly like I remembered it. Now I can ease the cravings of things from my home in Springfield MO, except Schlotzky's. Man I miss that place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I love this cashew chicken recipe and was so happy to find it on here. It is true you can't find it made the same anywhere else. Ive spent many summers there. And it is one my all time favorites and now my families. Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Amazing. It tastes just like the takeout I've gotten in Springfield. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Growing up in springfield, mo. I can tell you this is the best. I no longer live there, but would make a trip just for springifield cashew chicken. Mr.Egg Roll, Diamond Head, Mr. wongs, grand fortuna. How I miss it. Actually I miss all their restraunts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrystal
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I grew up in the springfield area and really miss cashew chicken. Loved how easy this recipe is. However, next time I'll probably use a little less suger and 1 less bouillon. It was a little to sweet and the chicken taste is a little stronger than I remember. Other than that great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States