Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I'm the original submitter of this recipe, many years ago. My name and account have changed or I would edit this recipe. Since I can't, I'll post the editing here. I've fine-tuned this recipe over the years, until it matches any I've ever eaten at restaurants in Springfield. Here's the changes: Take out the baking soda, and just add 1T Corn starch, 1 t. Lawry's seasoned salt, and 1/2 t. pepper to your flour mixture in a ziplock bag. To the eggs, add 2 Tablespoons of ice water, then beat. Dip your chicken in the egg, then the put in the ziplock bag to throughly coat the chicken, then lay the chicken on your cutting board for fifteen minutes to rest. After that, fry in the peanut oil as per original recipe and drain. Changes to sauce: To the original 2 cups chicken broth, change the Oyster sauce amt to 1 1/2 Tablespoons, 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar, 2 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 Tablespoons corn starch. Heat all but the corn starch to boiling, then mix the corn starch with 1/3 cup of cold water until smooth. Stir slowly into the hot broth, and boil for one more minute. Put lid on and set aside. Heat cashews only in the oven, for the amt of time on the original recipe, and sprinkle fresh, chopped green onions over the finished dish. Enjoy! Teresa Merau
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This is just like the cashew chicken at a little place in Pensacola florida.....I leave out the oyster and pepper when I make the broth and double the broth that you pour on top! This is really good. Chelita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
I love going home to Springfield, MO to get this wonderful (and inexpensive) Cashew Chicken. They just don't make it the same in other Chinese restaurants, but this recipe is the real thing. If only it was as easy to make as picking it up at the drive thru!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
If I could give this a higher rating I would. I've been looking for this recipe for 20 years since I went to school in Springfield - it is a perfect replica of the local dish. My own personal opinion is that this recipe does need to sit for awhile after adding the sauce to let the flavors meld more, the next day is when I actually thought it tasted exactly like the local version. My only other suggestion is to add some cashews to the sauce when it is hot, it softens these cashews up and lets the flavor of the nuts out. Then I still added more cashews right before serving to add the crunch. I've also made it with low sodium chicken cubes since the salt level in this recipe is very high and it still had great flavor. My son is now addicted to this and keeps telling me he wants to go to college in Springfield so he can have this everyday. Thanks for the recipe and the memories of Springfield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This recipe was AWESOME !! After attending college in Springfiled and eating Cashew Chicken on a weekly basis, I have found nothing that compares to this recipe !! Served over a bed of rice, this one definitely brings back good memories !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This recipie is right on the money. This is a family favorite, and is a wonderful dish to enjoy. A suggestion, though: instead of using a teaspoon of white pepper, use only a pinch. The power of the white pepper is almost too much for younger/more sensative tastebuds, or so I'm told. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I lived in Springfield for 5 years and travel there quite a bit. The sauce turned out with too much pepper flavor. Overall, pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I live in Lake of the Ozarks (which is close to Springfield) and this is absolutely the best cashew chicken EVER! It even beats out the restaurants! The only change I made was to cut WAY back on the white pepper...I only used a pinch. For those of you who are turning out oily chicken, use peanut oil, not vegetable oil. It makes a difference. Thanks for posting Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Thank you, thank you, thank you! My husband and I attended college in Springfield. We graduated in 2006 and moved to Iowa. We have been looking for good Cashew Chicken ever since. This recipe is perfect and tastes just like the Cashew Chicken in Springfield that we loved so much. The only change we made to the recipe was to cut the corn startch down to two tbsp. Otherwise, Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States