Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Being originally from the Springfield, MO. area, I missed this favorite dish of mine since I had moved. I found this recipe very close to what is served back there. The chicken came out fantastic. I noticed one reviewer complained that the chicken was too greasy. I'm assuming the reviewer didn't use peanut oil to deep fry the chicken in as the recipe calls for, but instead used vegetable oil which will make the chicken too greasy. The sauce I found to be a little too sweet and had way too much white pepper in it(I even halved the amount the recipe called for). Next time I'll try making it without any sugar and maybe just a small pinch of white pepper. I also used about half the amount of cornstarch as the recipe called for as it would have made the sauce too thick. So far this is the closest recipe I have found compared to authentic Springfield style cashew chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
If I could give this a higher rating I would. I've been looking for this recipe for 20 years since I went to school in Springfield - it is a perfect replica of the local dish. My own personal opinion is that this recipe does need to sit for awhile after adding the sauce to let the flavors meld more, the next day is when I actually thought it tasted exactly like the local version. My only other suggestion is to add some cashews to the sauce when it is hot, it softens these cashews up and lets the flavor of the nuts out. Then I still added more cashews right before serving to add the crunch. I've also made it with low sodium chicken cubes since the salt level in this recipe is very high and it still had great flavor. My son is now addicted to this and keeps telling me he wants to go to college in Springfield so he can have this everyday. Thanks for the recipe and the memories of Springfield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I lived in Springfield for 5 years and travel there quite a bit. The sauce turned out with too much pepper flavor. Overall, pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This recipe was AWESOME !! After attending college in Springfiled and eating Cashew Chicken on a weekly basis, I have found nothing that compares to this recipe !! Served over a bed of rice, this one definitely brings back good memories !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This recipie is right on the money. This is a family favorite, and is a wonderful dish to enjoy. A suggestion, though: instead of using a teaspoon of white pepper, use only a pinch. The power of the white pepper is almost too much for younger/more sensative tastebuds, or so I'm told. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This recipe rules!!! I make it at least 3 times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This is just like the cashew chicken at a little place in Pensacola florida.....I leave out the oyster and pepper when I make the broth and double the broth that you pour on top! This is really good. Chelita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
I love going home to Springfield, MO to get this wonderful (and inexpensive) Cashew Chicken. They just don't make it the same in other Chinese restaurants, but this recipe is the real thing. If only it was as easy to make as picking it up at the drive thru!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
I grew up near Springfield, so I was excited to find this recipie. When I made it, I was only partially happy with the sauce and not happy at all with the chicken. To improve the sauce, I would use half the amount of cornstarch to start, and then add more if neccessary. The sauce was just way too thick. My fried chicken nuggets turned out way too greasy and I was sick after eating a few. I would suggest buying pre-made chicken nuggets and then either bake them or deep fry them. I will try this recipie again and use baked nuggets. I'm sure it will be quite good then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States