Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is as close to the authentic David Leong recipe as it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Ok, I cheated and used breaded chicken in a bag from Banquet that you make in the oven. But-the sauce recipe was dead on perfect. Just like we remember it. Definately a do over at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
It was ok. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
The best recipe I have found. I lived in Springfield then and this is the closest thing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I'm curious what springfield you got this recipe from. This is closer to a general chicken than SPRINGFIELD, MO. I would cut the amount of pepper. I would also suggest to many people trying this recipe to skip the flour, egg dip, flour, and go straight from the first flour coating to the fryer. Its way less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
The gravy was a little bit bland so I added a touch more soy and oyster sauces. I have never fried chicken in peanut oil before, and I was really impressed with how delicious, crispy and non-greasy it was. I'll definitely be using that in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
the best I have ever eaten. I got the recipe in the 70's and my family has enjoyed it for years. If you love chicken this is chicken at its best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I made this last night for my boyfriend, who is a Springfield native and whose favorite food in the world is Springfield-Style Cashew Chicken. Apparently there are a million variations on this dish even in Springfield, and luckily this recipe (with a couple of minor changes) turned out to be quite authentic and just the way he prefers it. I followed the recipe exactly except that I cut the amount of cornstarch and sugar in the sauce in half, and I did not put baking soda in with the flour that I used to bread the chicken. Frying in very hot PEANUT oil is crucial to the success of this dish - vegetable oil or any oil that is not hot enough will leave the chicken very greasy. Note: this recipe doesn't make a lot of sauce, so I would double the sauce if you're making enough chicken for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
The sauce was right on, but I didn't care for the breading on the chicken. Next time I will fry the chicken using a typical fried chicken batter. My family loved it, we have been missing Cashew Chicken since we have moved from the Springfield area. Now I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ash Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I thought the sauce was right on, but the chicken wasn't restaurant style (maybe I need a fry daddy). I was surprised by the flavor. I will make again, but will add some seasoning to the chicken batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States