Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Finally i found a recipe that tastes like the real cashew chicken from Springfield, MO. The birthplace of chinese food.....I lived in springfield and this is what I miss the most. This is the closest you will get to the real thing. Florida doesn't serve cashew chicken like this. I have searched!! Alot of springfield mo people on this website, they know what I'm talking about!! Same with Sweet and Sour chicken, General Chicken, so on. If ever in Springfield try Mr. Egg Roll on S. Campbell or Diamond Head, YUM!!! Go Springfield!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Good receipe...Thank you. Mr. Leong would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Actually fairly bland, with not enough sauce to coat the chicken. The cashews were the only saving grace for this dish in my opinion. It involved several steps and really wasn't worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I was amazed at how the chicken turned out. This is the closest thing to resturant style I've made. The peanut oil was a great idea, and was the first time I've used it. I did add a bit of salt on top when served but next time I will add a little to the sauce. Great recipe, and easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
My wife and kids loved this. The second time I made it, my wife asked me to add diced water chestnuts, celery and some peas and carrots (not too much - all for texture and it's just the way she likes it). Just as good--didn't ruin the original recipe. I felt it was best served with fried rice but was good with plain rice also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
We are originally from Springfield, MO. When we moved to Tennessee. We could not find anyplace that made cashew chicken this way. We were so disappointed. I looked up this receipe about 10 years and have been making it ever since. You can't get ANY closer then this! If you go EXACTLY by this receipe. You will not be disappointed! I'd give it 10 stars if they had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Good recipe, I leave out the white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I'm the original submitter of this recipe, many years ago. My name and account have changed or I would edit this recipe. Since I can't, I'll post the editing here. I've fine-tuned this recipe over the years, until it matches any I've ever eaten at restaurants in Springfield. Here's the changes: Take out the baking soda, and just add 1T Corn starch, 1 t. Lawry's seasoned salt, and 1/2 t. pepper to your flour mixture in a ziplock bag. To the eggs, add 2 Tablespoons of ice water, then beat. Dip your chicken in the egg, then the put in the ziplock bag to throughly coat the chicken, then lay the chicken on your cutting board for fifteen minutes to rest. After that, fry in the peanut oil as per original recipe and drain. Changes to sauce: To the original 2 cups chicken broth, change the Oyster sauce amt to 1 1/2 Tablespoons, 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar, 2 tablespoons soy sauce, 2 Tablespoons corn starch. Heat all but the corn starch to boiling, then mix the corn starch with 1/3 cup of cold water until smooth. Stir slowly into the hot broth, and boil for one more minute. Put lid on and set aside. Heat cashews only in the oven, for the amt of time on the original recipe, and sprinkle fresh, chopped green onions over the finished dish. Enjoy! Teresa Merau
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I made this for my husbands birthday as a surprise for him. He grew up in Springfield, MO, and everytime he goes back...this is the first meal he eats. It tasted EXACTLY like it should taste and he will ask for it now about once every week. I did have a little trouble with the cornstarch, but finally figured out the trick to it after calling a woman who lives in Springfield and makes it every week. By far...this is as close as you can get without having to go to Springfield!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I just realized (when suggesting it to someone on the Exchange) that I've never rated this. I've made it many times and the only thing that I do differently is NO WHITE PEPPER. The listed amount is entirely too much. Other than that, this recipe is delicious and certainly tastes like the takeout cashew chicken around here! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States