Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Stellar recipe!! I made it with half chicken, half tofu (prepared just like the chicken) and it was great. I also stir-fried some carrots and celery and added it to the mix. I substituted a small amount of fish sauce for the oyster sauce, as I had none. It is a mild sauce, but you could surely kick it up on your own. I must also add that the presentation is BEAUTIFUL--it looked like something you would get at a good Chinese restaurant!! Def. make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe with her second review, minus the oyster sauce. It was my first time making cashew chicken and it was great, tasted just like what we eat here in Springfield :) I had to add just a little more cornstarch mixture to my gravy because I like it thicker, but the overall taste was wonderful. I served it on a bed of white rice with the toasted cashews and fresh chopped green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ortegacrew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I wish more restaurants across America would make it this way! When I am in a hurry - I simply make the sauce and bake some Frozen Popcorn Chicken according to directions and serve over minute rice! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Cashew chicken is my granddaughters favorite dish so we tried this together. She did not want to add the oyster sauce so we left that out, otherwise we followed the recipe. She wanted onion, red peppers, celery, and carrots stir fried in this recipe and it was perfect. It took us 1 1/2 hrs. to make this so the prep time was off but it was fun to make and we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
mmmm good! didn't have chicken broth so i had to used beef instead. still tatsted really nice. the chicken i find, has to be smothered in the sauce or else it dosen't realy taste that good. with the sauce the. its excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Yum!!!!!!! I never come back and review a recipe but this one deserves it!! Way 2 Go!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is one of the first times I have rated a recipe but I had to let you know how great this one is. It is just as I remember from living in Missouri. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe is very close to the cashew chicken I had when I lived in Springfield, MO. It's very good and simple to do. I did use black pepper instead of white. Worth the time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artsyme

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My husband grew up in Springfield and craves Cashew Chicken. We can't find anything like it where we live so we decided to try this recipe. It is RIGHT ON! The only exception is the white pepper. It's too much and not needed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
We have tried many different cashew chicken recipies but this one is by far the best the only thing I did differnt was take out the white pepper as it was a little to spicy for my kids with it. My fiance' liked it with the pepper. But all in all this was VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States