Springfield Style Cashew Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
The first time I had cashew chicken at my MIL's I didn't really care for it. She's from Springfield, Missouri so now I get it! My husband wanted Mom's cashew chicken for Father's day and I ran across this recipe. He thought it was pretty close but said the sauce was heavy. (I am almost certain his mom has never had oyster sauce in her fridge!) Next time I will cut the amount down by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kindle Cheney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Yes! No waiting for a trip to Southern MO for this dish! My whole family loves it. It tastes exactly how it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Made this recipe a couple of days ago and LOVED IT!! I made sure to look at the reviews and found that one with all the changes and used that... It was great. Me and my husband have been searching for a cashew chicken recipe since we live in Springfield Mo, this one will now be our go too! thanks so much for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
OMG!! I moved to Florida from Springfield MO. Let me tell you my daughter and I love this recipe. It's a little taste of home. Chinese food is definitely not the same here. The other bonus is that this is really a 2 person recipe and we get to spend time in the kitchen together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daynalvsfood87
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
i love this recipe. everyone in my house loves this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Next Time would double the sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanngoss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kimberling City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I followed the submitters April 13, 2009 version of the recipe. Being from Los Angeles, I have never tasted Springfield Style Cashew Chicken before. I was a bit skeptical, but it was a fantastic recipe -- very flavorful! Since I had no chicken broth on hand, I substituted with chicken bouillion and added thinly sliced button mushrooms and a pinch of butter to give the gravy richness. Next time I will be sure to have homemade chicken stock on hand. I will also coat my chicken with potato starch instead of flour to give it an ultra crisp coating for frying. I garnished my Cashew Chicken with red and yellow peppers and crisp green snow peas, as well as the green onions. The meal was the perfect blend of crunch, gravy, color, and cashew nuttiness. I will certainly make this "comfort style" dish again. It was a hit with my husband, too. Thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I made this tonight and it was wonderful. I did add 2 T of peanut butter to the chicken broth before boiling and it really added depth. This will become part of my regular meal rotation even if it is kinda messy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I grew up in Pensacola florida and thought this was just typical chinese, but when I traveled, no chinese restaurant had ever heard of it. Some people named Chong owned it They sold it and the new owners altered it and it is not the same. I was devastated and when I found the recipe on line I was ecstatic!I make my sauce in the pan where I fried the chicken and make a sort of roux to add extra thickening and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I live in Springfield and eat cashew chicken out quite a bit. The chicken turned out well, however the sauce had WAY too much pepper. Compared to the local sauces, I did not like it at all. To purchase it out is about $4.00 per meal....so I will probably skip making this in the future. A lot of work for a so-so sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States