Springerle IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This receipe is the REAL THING. It asks for baker's ammonia and it tells you to let the shaped cookie stay outside for 24h. If you try this receipe for the first time, don't be discouraged by the strong an unusual smell of the ammonia. It makes the cookies puff up during the baking process. That's where its name comes from. Translated it means "little jumper". Ammonia is a must for those cookies, otherwise you will have Anise cookies. The smell will disapear over time and the strong flavor of anise will rise. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This is the same recipe that I received from my great grandmother some 50 years ago. I've had problems finding the ammonium carbonate but my local drugstore was able to get some for me. My favorite way of "softening" them up, is to dunk them in a good cup of hot tea when I am eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I thought Springerles would be only a childhood Christmas memory for me until I found this recipe - they taste EXACTLY as I knew them, and they are surprisingly easy to make! I found that the dough could be chilled for longer periods with consistent results for busy cooks. I used a cat cookie cutter as I do not have any molds; the cut cookies "rested" overnight on parchment paper for easy removal. Also, I used a spray mister to quickly wet the backs before placing on a greased and seeded sheet. My friends wholeheartedly shared in my enthusiasm by exclaiming how exceptional the "puffy cats" were, which caused the need for multiple double batches! Will get online to purchase down molds for next year. It was the highlight of my Christmas, thank you very very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Excellent Recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Substitute 1 teaspoon baking powder plus 1 teaspoon baking soda for 1 teaspoon baking ammonia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snow Owl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Wonderful! Made these for Christmas. I have individual Springerle molds, not a rolling pin (and they're fairly big--about 4x3 ) so I only got 16 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My first time to make springerle. Couldn't wait to use my new rolling pin and mold set. These taste just like I remember them from many years ago. I did not change the recipe at all. I got the baking ammonia from a baking supply store. They are still good after being in a cookie tin for four weeks. Thank you for the recipe Jenny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States