Springerle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These cookies taste exactly like the Springerle cookies my German uncle used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
my dad loves these cookies from his childhood so I made the receipe and he couldnt stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I have looked for this recipe for YEARS. My mother passed away 34 years ago, she made these at christmas time every year starting them in October.....she would store them in a large crock. I have springerle boards instead of a rolling pin, they work the same way. THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE....IT'S THE REAL ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I was terrified of making springerle until I used this recipe. Three successful batches and counting! Both my dad and my aunt have said these are just like their grandma used to make. I place the cookies on a cookie sheet with parchment paper sprinkled with anise seeds...saves tea towels. These have not hardened on me yet. Success! Am passing this recipe on to my daughter-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
excellent! I had lost my recipe and glad to report this one is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My mother made a cookie we have called Krabili. I was surprised to find the same type cookie in a Betty Crocker cookie book "springerle." Mom received this recipe from a Swedish neighbor 55 years ago. Anyone ever heard of Krabili? Our recipe has eggs, sugar, flour, touch of salt and anise seed. I roll it out thin and use a krinkle edge roll cutter and then let dry overnight and cook in slow oven the next day. Basically the same ingredients and process. I am baking them now as I write. I would like to try them, maybe next year with the lemon. Because I have taken over the tradition I have family members putting in their orders. Bocaboda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I buy really beautiful molds online. We love them ! Great recipe by the way !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the recipe that I use. Only I also add 1/2 t of Anise Oil. Though anise is traditionally Christmas, they can also be made by omitting the anise seed and substituting other flavorings like Vanilla, Orange, etc. I have also made it with 4 cup powdered sugar instead of the 2 c. granulated. Both work, but I prefer the powdered sugar. I saw a suggestion on youtube recommending that you cook one to make sure your oven is right on and adjust. This year I had thick pads on the bottom. Just as I was finishing the last batch I connected with the fact that my oven was too cool. (Time to have the control board replaced.) I also used American acrylic cookied presses, so instead of the traditional 3/8-58 thickness I rolled them to a little under 1/4 inch. It is a good recipe. The grandkids and kids love them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is great! Thanks for sharing. I did put some ground anise into the dough. About 2 tsp. I also don't have a rolling pin or stamps. I used a mold and pressed in the dough. It pealed right out with only a little coaxing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I love this recipe, my mother also made these at Christmas, the only thing I change is I add 1 t. of anise oil to the dough. PS add the flour slowly because I only used 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States