Spring Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was remniscient of chilly winter saturday afternoons. Although I must say there is no need for BOTH egg noodles AND potatoes (one or the other should do). Additionally, there is no need to first sautee the onion and garlic. Just throwing them in the pot works fine. And don't forget the salt and pepper- I threw in some fresh basil and thyme for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Skip the cabbage and use cauliflower,I added 1 14.5oz can tomatoes with roasted garlic and this was delicious. Better than most minestrone..Thank you Sweetiebritz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe was so delicious-highly reccommended, especially for the cold season! My family and I loved it. I substituted vegetable broth (for the chicken), and regular noodles for the egg noodles since I'm vegan. Also added in some sun dried tomatoes. You can really use whatever variation of veggies you have in the kitch or what veggies you prefer. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Enjoyed this on a spring cold snap! I made a double batch--might as well chop a whole cup as half-cup of all these veggies. I doubled and rounded up everything except the noodles and potato--only added 3oz of twisted egg noodles for the double batch--plenty thick, filled with wonderful veg.flavors. Lowered the carbs--and cleaned the veggie bin! Will make again.-Be sure to use fresh veg!THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is a very good, easy and quick soup to make. I added one can of stewed tomatoes to it. It's very hearty and filling. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Very easy to make. Just cutting up the fresh vegetables takes time, but it's worth it. I chose to use all organic vegetables and vegetable broth and slow-cooked it with dried chickpeas instead of the white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Delicious and so easy! I didn't change too much, but did add two diced up chicken breasts (browned them first with the onion and garlic) and used low sodium broth. I also cooked the egg noodles seperately and added them to individual bowls. They tend to get too mushy otherwise and do not store as well it you have leftovers. Overall great, easy soup that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise T.
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Really smelled nice while cooking! I added jasmine rice instead of egg noodles as I had none. Needed salt though, but wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I omitted the egg noodles and used white wine and herb chicken broth. It changed the flavor some. It didn't have much substance even though it called for many vegetables. I might add barley to give more substance next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I loved it! I didn't include the noodles and instead I added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and it was fantastic! I will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States