Spring Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is a great soup. I did make my own additions, only because I was originally looking for a beef soup. First, I doubled the recipe. I browned one lb. of beef (cubed for stew) in the oil before adding the garlic and onion. I used low sodium beef broth instead of chicken broth. Also, I used 2 cups of regular small tube pasta instead of egg noodles. I didn't add the beans this time. It was great, a perfect start for what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARBOARDJEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
It's good. And *SO* close to vegetarian, why not use vegetable broth? Nextime, I'm adding chicken! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This soup is awesome. It is also a great one to mix around the ingredients and add/subtract stuff. It's hearty and refreshingly brothy. I made it vegetarian by substituting veggie broth for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
WOW! I too sub. chicken broth with vegie and added more corn cause I love corn. Prep did take a little time but the end result was so good and for me, comming off an 11 day internal cleanse, this was the PERFECT soup to introduce food again to my system! Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I loved it! I didn't include the noodles and instead I added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and it was fantastic! I will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a good recipe. I did do some changes though. I did not put cabbage in the soup becasue I dont like the taste of it. I also made my own chicken broth. Other then that it is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Very easy to make. Just cutting up the fresh vegetables takes time, but it's worth it. I chose to use all organic vegetables and vegetable broth and slow-cooked it with dried chickpeas instead of the white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Thompson
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Really smelled nice while cooking! I added jasmine rice instead of egg noodles as I had none. Needed salt though, but wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe was so delicious-highly reccommended, especially for the cold season! My family and I loved it. I substituted vegetable broth (for the chicken), and regular noodles for the egg noodles since I'm vegan. Also added in some sun dried tomatoes. You can really use whatever variation of veggies you have in the kitch or what veggies you prefer. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I omitted the egg noodles and used white wine and herb chicken broth. It changed the flavor some. It didn't have much substance even though it called for many vegetables. I might add barley to give more substance next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States