Spring Sweet Pea Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Wonderful, easy, fresh salad! The only change I made was I used crumbled cooked bacon instead of the ham cause that's what I had on hand. Kids loved it, an everyone had seconds. I think I'll add chopped/shredded cooked chicken next time to make it a complete meal! Thanks for this delicious salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was even better than I hoped for. I had a store bought version and it left me wanting for more. I thought I'd see if allrecipes had anything like it. This is so much better. I love the addition of lemon. It makes it so bright and springy. I was a little concerned about it being too much liquid because the dressing was very runny, however it really firms up in the refrigerator. The only changes I made were using elbow macaroni, green onions instead of red, omitting the ham and using 1 tsp. of dill instead of 1 tablespoon. It was delicious and the lemon juice and zest really made the dish for me. Also, if you're making it to serve immediately and don't have thawed peas, just soak them in hot water for a few minutes and drain. They thaw right out, but don't get cooked. Thanks so much for the delicious new recipe. This will be perfect for summer potlucks and bbqs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is the best thing that I have ever had. I will like to make this dish for my family every day and I know they will enjoy this because this is their lifestyle which is the best thing that any family should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Great spring/summer recipe. Refreshing on a hot day. The lemon, dill and cayanne pepper make this dish unique. Made a few vegetarian friendly substitutions: soy cheese instead of cheddar, worthington's "wham" instead of ham (any vege "ham" product will do the trick), Nayonase instead of mayonase and a sour cream substitue. It's really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I loved this receipe, was not sure at first. I did not have any cheddar cheese only pepper jack. Nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Very good! The only change I made was to use fresh dill. Will make this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was great! I would suggest serving it within a few hours as it tends to dry out the longer it sits. Serve cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very good recipe! Loved the flavors, although I did cut down the lemon juice a bit and did not use zest, because my daughter isn't a huge lemon fan. I did mix a bit more dressing after it sat for awhile, as it seemed a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Oooh, Kimberly, you outdid yourself! This was so good, even my kids who don't like peas ate it. This should get an extra star just for that! I used about half the lemon juice called for because my lemons seems especially strong this year. I also used crumbled bacon instead of ham and green onions instead of red, but ONLY because I didn't want to go the store. Next time I'll use the ham and red onion. I'm sure it will be as good or even better. Thanks! UPDATE: I've made this several times now, and its good as written, and with the above changes. I always use a little less lemon, though. I've been asked for this recipe many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe and make it very often. The lemon, dill and cayenne make an excellent combo. But I always add more veggies to this. Corn, chopped celery, chopped red, green, yellow and orange peppers. Gives some crunch and color! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States