Spring Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Great recipe! I made some minor changes to it... I put the grapes, celery and onion into a food processor and "pulsed" it only a few times. This made the grapes chunky and allowed the flavor to really come through. The grapes I used were fresh, so the salad did not come out watery whatsoever. I also used "Sugar in the Raw" which is sugar that has not been refined. It worked really well. I put the bacon in the processor as well so the bits would be more uniform and mix well so there were no large chunks. This salad went really quick with my guests. Many of them had 2-3 portions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This was a tasty recipe, but a little too sweet for our taste, so we added some hot sauce to the dressing....it added a nice zing! We also used the dried cranberries in place of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Excellent!! I used dried cranberries instead of the raisins, as was suggested by one reviewer and liked the flavor very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This was an awesome salad! But be careful not to mix the dressing with the rest of the ingredients more than a few hours before serving as the broccoli will wilt and shrink a bit, leaving it a little watery in the bottom of the serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
EXCELLENT!!!!! I made this for dinner guests the other night and there was not a speck left. Not only does it taste fabulous but it is also very attractive in a clear glass salad bowl. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Even better the second day after the flavors have blended a bit- I will make this the day before next time! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This was fabulous. We loved the presentation, taste, EVERYTHING! I used bagged broccoli as well as real bacon bits as a timesaver. Also upped the grapes because I had a bunch of leftovers from a party that needed to be used. Very good and it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This salad is wonderful. My husband got 5 helpings. The ingredients are so colorful, it makes a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFEROWHITE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheneyville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Very yummy! I didn't change anything in the recipe. I like this salad because you can make it ahead of time, as opposed to some other salads that just get too soggy when prepared in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Excellent! The flavors really work. I upped the grapes to 1 1/2 cups each and added a bit more green onions and raisins (golden) to balance the flavors. I also added a couple drops of orange oil (can use zest) to the dressing, which I think made the salad shine--raves from everyone. Note: I would not toss the dressing into the salad too far in advance--the more crisp, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States