Spring Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was absolutely delicious, the perfect mix of sweet and salty. I saved a little time by using the fully cooked bacon they sell in stores and substituted craisins for raisins. I had to omit the almonds due to allergies and would probably add sunflower seeds next time to give it a little crunch. This dish was so good my dad, a retired chef, is making it for a progressive dinner he is attending. Now THAT'S the ultimate seal of approval:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Intially hesitated due to the odd combination of ingredients, but i have to say this is the best sald i've had in the longest time. Absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as directed and everyone that I've had try the salad asks for the recipe. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was a hit!! Easy, wonderful blend of flavor and I used the pre cooked bacon bits and no one knew... I'd make it again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So good! Everyone liked it. It's a great way to get kids to eat their broccoli. Will definitely be making it again. So easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julirob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
SALTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I had such high hopes - it was the dressing that was such a let-down. The mayo-sugar-vinegar combination makes something really special taste like any plain old broccoli salad. I subbed craisins for raisins and left out the bacon. I should have gone with my gut and not doused the whole thing in mayo. A different dressing is very much in order....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My daughter and I made this recipe together. As our Wednesday Night cooking lesson. As I can say this was a delight to make. Other then my daughter freaking out with the popping bacon. Other then this was a really good salad, my sister in law made I think a similar salad using sunflower seeds, but I like all the cruchiness in this. We sliced all the grapes and used golden raisins as that's what my daughter choose, and I felt a very very great choice. I wouldn't change anything about this. We really liked it, my husband went after this 3 times. Totally yummy. And do wait a bit to add the bacon right before serving to keep it's crunchy-ness. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Excellent! Used food processor to chop broccoli and celery. Substituted dried cranberries for raisins (didn't have any) and sunflower seeds for almonds (nut allergy). I cut the grapes in half so we would get some in every bite and they stayed nice and firm. I've taken this to several BBQ's this summer and it has been a hit each time. Thanks Browndog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Great flavor blend. Love the smokiness of the bacon with the sweet of the grapes. I used rice vinegar since I did not have the wine vinegar. Also very refreshing for a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States