Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Students in my high school cooking class picked this recipe out for a vegetable unit. They left the meats and fish sauce out adn we substituted egg roll wrappers for the rice ones due to availabiity. They take a while to prepare, but they tasted excellent! Many of the students liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
These were great, Sally. I had only one problem, and that was locating the springroll wrappers. None of the chains I shop at had them. We do have some Asian markets about 20 miles from here that I will try, however. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Great Recipe, Sally! I left out the mushrooms and toss in a minute amount of finely grated cabbage and 2t dry mustard. Sensational flavor. I sorely need some practice in forming the rolls, though!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
These spring rolls were very good. I used ground turkey instead of pork, dried black fungus in place of the mushrooms, and left out the crabmeat. This made about 14 rolls, but I think that when I do them the next time, I will use less filling in each one. Then I will be able to roll them more tightly, and they will be appetizer size, instead of meal size. I used the fish sauce recipe from Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls found on this site, and it was the perfect dipping sauce. My husband loved them, too, which is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
We made these without any of the meat. They were pretty good. My husband liked the rice paper wrappers. My biggest complaint is that they were WAY too greasy. I let them drain as best I could but still... the oil overwhelmed the taste.. maybe if I used a milder oil...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These are just like the ones I had in my favorite Laoatian Place they are so crispy and good that you want to eat them all the time, these are good with a special Laos Sweet&Sour sauce and they are just perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Sally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Brought these to our friends as an appetizer for our annual "post Christmas Tree picking party" and twenty one rolls were gone in no time! I added cabbage, carrot, green onion, oriental flavored garlic powder and onion powder to the mix. So good Sally and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
easy to make and tasted wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Priest River, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I thought these were wonderful!! I used ground chicken and pork mixture. I didn't have crab so eliminated that. I also added ginger, some cabbage and a bit of water chestnuts for a crunch. I used spring roll wrappers and egg rolls wrappers. They both worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I had everything ready to go when I discovered I was out of vermicelli noodles, so I used broken up and cooked angel hair pasta. Also, I had to use canned bean sprouts as the ones at the store were pretty sorry looking. Although I know that using the proper ingredients will certainly improve the recipe, I thought that the actual flavor was lacking something. If I were to make these again, I might try a little Chinese Five Spice. We did enjoy them though. Thanks, Sally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States