Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Students in my high school cooking class picked this recipe out for a vegetable unit. They left the meats and fish sauce out adn we substituted egg roll wrappers for the rice ones due to availabiity. They take a while to prepare, but they tasted excellent! Many of the students liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
These were great, Sally. I had only one problem, and that was locating the springroll wrappers. None of the chains I shop at had them. We do have some Asian markets about 20 miles from here that I will try, however. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
These spring rolls were very good. I used ground turkey instead of pork, dried black fungus in place of the mushrooms, and left out the crabmeat. This made about 14 rolls, but I think that when I do them the next time, I will use less filling in each one. Then I will be able to roll them more tightly, and they will be appetizer size, instead of meal size. I used the fish sauce recipe from Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls found on this site, and it was the perfect dipping sauce. My husband loved them, too, which is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I thought these were wonderful!! I used ground chicken and pork mixture. I didn't have crab so eliminated that. I also added ginger, some cabbage and a bit of water chestnuts for a crunch. I used spring roll wrappers and egg rolls wrappers. They both worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Love these rolls. I did make a few adjustments to taste like my favorite restaurant. Only used these ingredients. Spring roll wraps(couldn't get rice wraps), 2oz. rice sticks instead of vermicelli, 4 egg whites, 1lb. of fresh small shrimp chopped, cabbage cut into thin strips, shredded carrots, then added fish sauce, soy sauce, and garlic. Wrap and fry. To cook rice sticks before adding to mix, boil water, add rice sticks and boil a minute, turn off heat and let sit until tender. Also thai peanut sauce goes well with these. These are a favorite now and we don't have to go out to have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Great Recipe, Sally! I left out the mushrooms and toss in a minute amount of finely grated cabbage and 2t dry mustard. Sensational flavor. I sorely need some practice in forming the rolls, though!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Brought these to our friends as an appetizer for our annual "post Christmas Tree picking party" and twenty one rolls were gone in no time! I added cabbage, carrot, green onion, oriental flavored garlic powder and onion powder to the mix. So good Sally and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These are just like the ones I had in my favorite Laoatian Place they are so crispy and good that you want to eat them all the time, these are good with a special Laos Sweet&Sour sauce and they are just perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Sally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
The kids couldn't stop eating them. I used a large bag of frozen oriental veggies, it was easier than fresh. I actually had to double the recipe the second time b/c they liked them so much. They were bragging to their friends that I had made homemade spring rolls. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
this is a great recipe for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States