Spring Lime Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Really great lime flavour, the only change I made was to use Splenda in place of the sugar in the cookie (I used 1/3 cup Splena in place of 3/4 cup sugar), I fin Splenda has an unpleasant 'metallic' after-taste if you use the same ratio as what the recipe calls for and since Splenda is sweeter than sugar, I always use about a 1/3 of what is called for in a recipe, aside from that, the cookies are good, the dough is soft and needed to be refrigerated for about 20 minutes to make it easier to handle, I rolled the dough into balls about 1 1/4" in diameter and then baked. I used my convection feature in the oven (as I do with all my cookies) and this makes them take longer to be done, but you have to watch them or they do burn on the bottoms quickly. I made a glaze from lime juice and powdered sugar and this really sets off the cookie. Definitely will keep this recipe on hand! Thanks for a nice change in a cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
These were a great cake like cookie. Perfect amount of lime and sweetness once you add the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
My boyfriend absolutely loved them! They were flavorful and soft. Next time I will grate the peel rather than strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I think these cookies were so-so. I followed the directions exactly and found them to be bland. However, I loved how thick and soft they are. With a little more lime flavor, they were perfect, but I also tried a thick, creamy frosting with them the second time I made them, and it made all the difference int he world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made these cookies since I had extra limes left over from a party. I didn't have all-purpose flour, but used wheat flour and added 1 tsp. of vanilla. In order to have that stronger lime taste, I brushed the lime sauce 3 times and then when it dried, I sprinkled powdered sugar to give it some color. It was a cake like texture. But overall most of the people at my husband's work liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These cookies did NOT turn out like cookies.. they were more like a cookie texture on top but bread otherwise.. They were more like flattened bisquits! Although, they had a good taste. I used Lemon Extract, because I had no Lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Sceviour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These cookies were good however, they are not crisp cookies. They are musch more cake-like. The icing should not be omitted. It has the most flavor and finishes off the cookie nicely. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These were so good I wish I could've given them 6 stars. The only thing I added was 2 drops of green food coloring. They are definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These are sweet, dainty little cookies with a sweet-tart lime glaze. I love the zest in the glaze. My sister and I made the cookies and everybody begged for more. I suggest a double batch. Put enough glazing on to cover the whole cookie, we couldn't get enough. I suggest making the cookie with a bigger circumference - - say, three inches or more. These "Monster" cookies can hold more glaze. (And, who doesn't want a big cookie?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezMauraKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
A little too sweet and soft for my taste, but they are a nice little treat with some strong tea. Very simple to make, and definitely the right treat for somebody who likes soft cookies. They do turn a little soggy due to the glazing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States