Spring Lime Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I think these cookies were so-so. I followed the directions exactly and found them to be bland. However, I loved how thick and soft they are. With a little more lime flavor, they were perfect, but I also tried a thick, creamy frosting with them the second time I made them, and it made all the difference int he world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made these cookies since I had extra limes left over from a party. I didn't have all-purpose flour, but used wheat flour and added 1 tsp. of vanilla. In order to have that stronger lime taste, I brushed the lime sauce 3 times and then when it dried, I sprinkled powdered sugar to give it some color. It was a cake like texture. But overall most of the people at my husband's work liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These cookies did NOT turn out like cookies.. they were more like a cookie texture on top but bread otherwise.. They were more like flattened bisquits! Although, they had a good taste. I used Lemon Extract, because I had no Lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These cookies were good however, they are not crisp cookies. They are musch more cake-like. The icing should not be omitted. It has the most flavor and finishes off the cookie nicely. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These were so good I wish I could've given them 6 stars. The only thing I added was 2 drops of green food coloring. They are definitely going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These are sweet, dainty little cookies with a sweet-tart lime glaze. I love the zest in the glaze. My sister and I made the cookies and everybody begged for more. I suggest a double batch. Put enough glazing on to cover the whole cookie, we couldn't get enough. I suggest making the cookie with a bigger circumference - - say, three inches or more. These "Monster" cookies can hold more glaze. (And, who doesn't want a big cookie?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezMauraKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
A little too sweet and soft for my taste, but they are a nice little treat with some strong tea. Very simple to make, and definitely the right treat for somebody who likes soft cookies. They do turn a little soggy due to the glazing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These are nice, but nothing special. I made them and my guests said that they liked them, but didn't have seconds. I found them to be more cakey in texture and therefore wasn't too fond of them. I like more of a crunchy chewy cookie. Anyhow, the taste was nice, but the texture was very unsatisfying for me as a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
These are great! Very soft and easy to make. Because some of the reviews said that these lose flavor after a day or so, I added lime zest to the glaze as well. I also made the glaze with confectioner's sugar instead of granulated, just because I had some on hand. I served these at a June baby shower, and the guests LOVED them. Their refreshing flavor was a hit, and there were none left at the end of the party :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This is a great recipe BUT it doesn't specify salted or unsalted butter. If you use salted butter, it's great, but if you bake with unsalted butter, you need to add 1/4 tsp of salt to the cookie batter to bring out all the flavor. For the glaze I used 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1 tbsp softened cream cheese, and 3 tbsp lime juice. Whisk till smooth. Makes a wonderful glaze with a little substance, and it sets up really nice. For a garnish, sprinkle a little toasted coconut on top of the freshly glazed cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suprbacana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States