Spring Lime Tea Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
The lime glaze on top provided the only flavor for a cookie that otherwise lacked any distinguishing flavor. It's more a texture than a taste -- super soft and fluffy and beautiful. I was so pleased when they came out of the oven, but I'm afraid I threw the rest out after I tried one. Flour and baking powder were the predominant flavors. I was hoping for something lightly sweet with a hint of lime, but that's not what I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I made these cookies for a family gathering, everyone really enjoyed them . The family said they were light and taste hard to just eat one . The only thing I changed to the recipe was on the glaze , I added powdered sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
My whole family loved these. Without the glaze they are perfect for afternoon tea. With glaze they are more a desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Shapiro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
My mom loved loved loved this recipe which is why it gets 4 stars instead of 3, but she thought there should be a stronger lime flavor. I thought the cookie was average. There was probably too much butter (I followed the recipe exactly, except for when making the glaze). I can't point out an exact reason but these cookies weren't amazing, and lacked a distinctive lime flavor However, when I made the glaze I was sooo surprised how good it was. I started out following the recipe but ended up adding a lot more sugar (I used powdered sugar) until the color was almost opaque white. The lime flavor was still there though. The glaze really completed the cookie, so if you are looking to cut calories do it somewhere on the cookie, not on the glaze. I don't have much experience with glaze so I wasn't sure if this one would harden but in the end it did, and I stacked them and wrapped them up for a bake sale. I think I would be okay to use granulated sugar instead of powdered since the sugar would dissolve anyways but I can't be sure since like I said I don't have much experience with glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Light, pillow-like cookies that were more like muffin tops. 10 min cooking time was perfect... Refrigerated dough for 30 min before baking. Used the sugar glaze listed in the recipe. Good way to use up leftover limes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These cookies have the perfect "tea cookie" texture. I did use two tablespoons of lime juice and decreased the milk to one fourth cup. I added 1/4 teaspoon salt. I made the glaze with powdered sugar and lime juice. This is just a very tasty cookie. I'm glad I tried this recipe and will surely make them again. Thank you Christina Pierson for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
These cookies turned out absolutely perfect! I've baked them 3 times and my whole family wolfs then down. They are fragile cookies so be careful getting them off the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I just made these cookies earlier today and I followed the directions as listed. I loved the flavor of the cookies and they turned out very soft. At the end of the 10 minutes of baking, I had to bake for an extra 5-7 minutes because cookies did not brown around the edges. Also, the glaze was so runny, the cookie basically absorbed it. Overall, the cookie had tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Very good but a little too soft and crumbly! As a disclaimer I added a bit more lime juice to the dough and I eyeballed the ingredients for the icing to my taste and used powder sugar. I left them out overnight and the icing seemed to set ok but I live in a dry climate and that may have helped. Next time I will add a bit more zest to the dough and use a full 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
They definitely weren't as lime-ey as I predicted them to be. The cookies just tasted like butter cookies, which were fine, but they weren't lime cookies. I don't know, maybe I didn't put enough lime zest...? :) and the "glaze" was awkward. It was the consistency of a dry-ish lip scrub, and I don't think it was supposed to be like that. Anyway, the cookie was alright...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States