Spring Cleaning Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I just made these after I saw the recipe, because I had a bunch of ingredients that needed to be used too. I overcooked the first sheet full, but I tasted one of those and they were pretty tasty even over-browned. A very good balance of flavors, and very easy to make. It helps to have a stand mixer that you can throw everything into instead of breaking your arm mixing it all yourself. Great cookies, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANTABIROSTRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
i altered the recipe a bit to use what i had (keeping in the spirit of the recipe). I used egg beaters and fat free evaporated milk, and white chocolate chips in place of the nuts (honey doesn't like nuts). Came out pretty darn good! a little dense, but that could have been because of my alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This recipe is definately a keeper! My family really enjoyed eating these cookies. I did make a few ingredient changes: Instead of using 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening, I used 1 cup butter; instead of 2 TBSP evaporated milk, I used 2 TBSP 2% milk; and lastly instead of using 2 cups all-purpose flour, I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour. As another reviewer suggested, I baked for approximately 10 mins. They were 'too' yummy; it was hard to stop at one cookie. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These cookies are incredible! Everyone loved them, even the kids who don't like coconut. I used up all my extra ingredients too. I'll have to go buy more because I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I subsituted maple extract for vanilla, and then used one cup of margarine instead of the butter & shortening. The cookies came out crunchy and delicious! A perfect recipe. You can't taste the coconut at all, it just gives the cookies a terrific texture. Using an electric mixer is recommended, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Wow! What a great cookie! Followed the recipe exactly. Really chewy and wonderful flavor. It's a definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Haha, I laughed when I saw these were called spring cleaning cookies because this really IS all the ingredients people have left over!! I had everything on the list so I decided to bake them regardless....GOOD DECISION!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and they turned out beautifully. Baked one batch at 15 mins, and another at 13 to give a choice between chewy or crispy. Lovely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I added peanut butter to the butter and sugar mixture as well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Wow. Very, very good. I followed the recipe exact, except I only had 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of 1 1/2, so I added a 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips. Next time I will try it with all chocolate, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SqirrellyGirly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Excellent basic recipe that allows you to add whatever you have! I used the coconut and oats, but only had 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, so I added 1 cup raisins and a 1/2 cup of craisins (dried Cranberries) that I had in the cupboard. More of a oatmeal/raisin feel to them, but I agree, the coconut is a nice, chewy touch. I also took someone's suggestion of substituting whole wheat flour since I'm always trying to bake a little healthier for the kids. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States