Spring Cleaning Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
To me this is a glorified chocolate chip cookie. The texture is great and very tasty. Not something I would make instead of chocolate chip cookies all of the time, but a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Excellent basic recipe that allows you to add whatever you have! I used the coconut and oats, but only had 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, so I added 1 cup raisins and a 1/2 cup of craisins (dried Cranberries) that I had in the cupboard. More of a oatmeal/raisin feel to them, but I agree, the coconut is a nice, chewy touch. I also took someone's suggestion of substituting whole wheat flour since I'm always trying to bake a little healthier for the kids. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Wow. Very, very good. I followed the recipe exact, except I only had 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of 1 1/2, so I added a 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips. Next time I will try it with all chocolate, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SqirrellyGirly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I added peanut butter to the butter and sugar mixture as well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Haha, I laughed when I saw these were called spring cleaning cookies because this really IS all the ingredients people have left over!! I had everything on the list so I decided to bake them regardless....GOOD DECISION!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and they turned out beautifully. Baked one batch at 15 mins, and another at 13 to give a choice between chewy or crispy. Lovely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Wow! What a great cookie! Followed the recipe exactly. Really chewy and wonderful flavor. It's a definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I subsituted maple extract for vanilla, and then used one cup of margarine instead of the butter & shortening. The cookies came out crunchy and delicious! A perfect recipe. You can't taste the coconut at all, it just gives the cookies a terrific texture. Using an electric mixer is recommended, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These cookies are incredible! Everyone loved them, even the kids who don't like coconut. I used up all my extra ingredients too. I'll have to go buy more because I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This recipe is definately a keeper! My family really enjoyed eating these cookies. I did make a few ingredient changes: Instead of using 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening, I used 1 cup butter; instead of 2 TBSP evaporated milk, I used 2 TBSP 2% milk; and lastly instead of using 2 cups all-purpose flour, I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour. As another reviewer suggested, I baked for approximately 10 mins. They were 'too' yummy; it was hard to stop at one cookie. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
i altered the recipe a bit to use what i had (keeping in the spirit of the recipe). I used egg beaters and fat free evaporated milk, and white chocolate chips in place of the nuts (honey doesn't like nuts). Came out pretty darn good! a little dense, but that could have been because of my alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States