Spring Cleaning Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Hubby & i love these! No matter what you substitute, they're always yummy and a bit different from the last batch. My recipe is called Emma Byler's 10 Cup Amish Cookies. Makes a BIG batch, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made exactly like recipe,turned out fine,but way to sweet. If I make again will only use 1/2 cup white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ganny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Love these! I'm starting to think I'm eating more dough than cookies, but they're delicious either way! I've been using my small pampered chef cookie scoop and so far have gotten five dozen and have only used about 2/3 of the dough. Lucky for me, cuz these aren't going to last long at my house! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmeakim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I make something very similar. When a cereal box gets emptied, I save all the "bits" and crumbs that are left and put them in a jar. Everything gets mixed all together. At cookie making time these "bits" are used where it calls for oatmeal. Depending on the type of cereal it sometimes also replaces the coconut. Anything and everything gets used, Those are really a "clean out the pantry" type cookie. I make them alot and never get the same thing twice. Thanks for sharing your recipe. It is always nice when someone works out the "kinks" (quantities) I guestimate a lot when I am creating. The kids love it when we make these as they can add the extras that they prefer - the choices are unlimited. Will have to make them with the grandsons some day. Their dad has a KitchenAid so we can just dump and create. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I just happen to have a little of this and a little of that to clean out my pantry and make these. They were a little dry. And done at the 10 min. mark. Probably wont make again. Coming back to edit; they were not too bad after being frozen for 2 wks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
They came out so good and stayed chewy after they cooled. Lots of textures and flavors. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Did you ever already know something was going to be good just by mixing up the dough or batter? This was one of those times for me. First, you're already a step ahead given the inviting array of ingredients - oatmeal, chocolate chips, pecans, coconut. I figured these were going to be rich and delicious, provided the dough turned out well, and it did. No wimpy, sissy cookie this! This is a hearty, chewy, flavorful cookie, with loads of contrasting textures. This is a perfect, old-fashioned, basic, lunch-box or cookie jar favorite. One worth making whether you're "spring cleaning" or not. I made no changes other than using half-and half for the evaporated milk- the recipe (and cookie!) is darn good, just as it stands, although there's plenty of room for improvising to include whatever's in your pantry. Just a word of caution - watch baking time carefully! I made fairly good-sized cookies and they were done in 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I used walnuts (because that's what my spring cleaning turned up!) I also used regular milk so I wouldn't have a can of eval milk laying around. The dough is delicious (oops!) I baked these at 350 because I didn't read the recipe. This may have been why my cookies turned out very crumbly. They fell apart really easily. It made good ice cream topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I have made a similar recipe, basically without the milk which I think makes them more "cake" like. I would make them again but without the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I never tell anyone where I found this. As far as they know these are MY cookies. Keeping this one secret from the family, too good to share with them. Only one that doesn't like them is my mother and thats because she thinks no one can make anything better then her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States