Spring Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was really good. I used almonds instead of pistachios and I didn't put the white chocolate on (I'm not a fan of white chocolate). Great biscotti, this was my first time making it and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I followed almost exactly, just substituting dried cherries and almonds for the fruit and nut called for in the recipe. I baked for about 27 minutes the first time, then about 8 the second time...so they were ever-so-slightly softer (less dry) than your typical biscotti. I melted some white chocolate and some almond bark and dipped one side of them, yum! I found the size to be just fine as specified, if you cut at an angle. I also did closer to 1/2-3/4" thick, instead of 1" (personal preference). Easy recipe--first time making biscotti and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was my first time making biscotti. I've always been intimidated by them, but this recipe is amazing - and they're really not that hard to make. I used: pecans, dried sweetened cranberries and white and chocolate chips along with the orange zest in the cookies, and drizzled them with chocolate when they were done. They came out amazing, so much so that everyone who tried them thought they were bought and not homemade! I'll use this recipe as a base for all my biscotti from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
my entire family and anyone else that tries this recipe cannot believe i made them- thats how great this is! i've made them at least half a dozen times, experimenting with different ingrediants. Different nuts, berries, flavors. Everytime they come out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made both the Spring Biscotti and the Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti from this site. I was worried about using olive oil instead of butter. To make a direct comparison I used the same amount of craisins (3/4 cup) and pistachios (3/4 cup) in each recipe. I also eliminated any flavorings other than almond and vanilla (ie: omitted orange flavoring). Honestly there was little difference between the oil and the butter. The Spring Biscotti with the butter was a little crunchier and a little easier to work with/cut. The Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti with the oil stuck to the parchment paper a little and was a little more delicate to cut without crumbling. However, the end result was a little softer than the spring biscotti. Either recipe is 5 star. I can't decide which one I will make again as they were so similar but I don't think I can go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
While this is a pretty simple recipe and it turned out great, I really did not like the taste. I typically like orange and cranberries together but for some reason it just didn't work for me in this recipe. I may try it again without the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Amazing. followed all the instructions except for the egg white since i was too lazy to add it... and still turned out great. my favorite biscotti recipe ever! being a beginner i thought i would have trouble but it was surprisingly easy, just takes lots of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colyal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These were the best biscotti I have experienced. Not having made biscotti before, I am giving this a 5-star rating based on biscotti been purchased in posh coffee shops and bakeries. I did not have pistachios, so I substituted slivered almonds. I am giving these away as gifts to my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Barnsley, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
First time I have ever made biscotti. Came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Only used 2 eggs. Did not put in pistachios. I did put in a bit of lemon extract. If the dough is sticky, just add a bit more flour. More flour can't hurt it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States