Spring Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
DO NOT USE MARGARINE!!! I tried using margarine and splenda for the first batch and it curdled right away. The end reselt wasn't too terrible but it cracked and didn't hold together well. I made another batch with butter and sugar and I immediately saw a difference. It was smooth and wonderful! By the way, I used fresh orange zest, lemon extract, and vanilla. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Recipe is fantastic as-is and is easily adaptable. Super easy biscotti and everyone who I've given it to love it. Thanks for a great recipe. This is my go-to for biscotti from now on, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was my first batch of homemade biscotti and this recipe hit it out of the park! It's taking all my will-power not to scarf down the entire batch. A few notes: I used slivered almonds instead of pistachios (already had them and they are cheaper) and I doubled the amount of orange zest. Also, despite putting the dough in the fridge for over an hour it was still really sticky in the center and underside. Next time I won't even waste my time with this step and will just form the logs directly on the lined cookie sheet. All in all, superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These are amazing. Cut them a little thinner to make more and lower WW points per. Great recipe, tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Turned out great! The recipe is really flexible and I could sub all kinds of ingredients. After my initial test batch, I immediately made 4 more batches of various flavors over the next two days and served them at a 50th wedding anniversary along side the coffee. The caterer even asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattgyver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
AMAZING! I brought this to work and several people said "they weren't a fan" of biscotti, but tried it anyways (probably because they felt obligated). Even people that aren't a fan ended up having seconds! They started as skeptics but ended up asking for the recipe! I also substituted almonds for pistachios, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, and left the rest the same. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Delicious recipe!! The only change I made was that I melted the white chocolate & drizzled it over the biscotti after they cooled instead of adding it to the dough. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I thought that I didn't like biscotti, having had a piece of store bought biscotti years ago, that I didn't care for. I made this recipe for a friend on mine who loves biscotti. Before giving it to her for her birthday, I tried a bite, and another, and another, and before I knew it, I had eaten two entire pieces. This stuff is so good. And it wasn't difficult at all to make. The dough came together beautifully; although, I did not add the white chocolate into the batter. I refrigerated for about 30 minutes, and the dough was ready for shaping on the sheet. The baking process went smoothly, and after the biscotti cooled, I drizzled the tops with melted white chocolate. My friend loved hers dipped in coffee, and I loved mine dipped in tea. Either way, this biscotti is beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
very yummy - didn't have white chocolate, but they still turned out really good...and I added juice from one orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
A friend made this recipe for New Years brunch and they were AMAZING!! I don't particularly care for biscotti but these have made me a convert. This is the recipe she followed exactly except she did top them with melted white chocolate. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States