Spring Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was my first time making biscotti. I've always been intimidated by them, but this recipe is amazing - and they're really not that hard to make. I used: pecans, dried sweetened cranberries and white and chocolate chips along with the orange zest in the cookies, and drizzled them with chocolate when they were done. They came out amazing, so much so that everyone who tried them thought they were bought and not homemade! I'll use this recipe as a base for all my biscotti from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
my entire family and anyone else that tries this recipe cannot believe i made them- thats how great this is! i've made them at least half a dozen times, experimenting with different ingrediants. Different nuts, berries, flavors. Everytime they come out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made both the Spring Biscotti and the Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti from this site. I was worried about using olive oil instead of butter. To make a direct comparison I used the same amount of craisins (3/4 cup) and pistachios (3/4 cup) in each recipe. I also eliminated any flavorings other than almond and vanilla (ie: omitted orange flavoring). Honestly there was little difference between the oil and the butter. The Spring Biscotti with the butter was a little crunchier and a little easier to work with/cut. The Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti with the oil stuck to the parchment paper a little and was a little more delicate to cut without crumbling. However, the end result was a little softer than the spring biscotti. Either recipe is 5 star. I can't decide which one I will make again as they were so similar but I don't think I can go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
While this is a pretty simple recipe and it turned out great, I really did not like the taste. I typically like orange and cranberries together but for some reason it just didn't work for me in this recipe. I may try it again without the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Amazing. followed all the instructions except for the egg white since i was too lazy to add it... and still turned out great. my favorite biscotti recipe ever! being a beginner i thought i would have trouble but it was surprisingly easy, just takes lots of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colyal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These were the best biscotti I have experienced. Not having made biscotti before, I am giving this a 5-star rating based on biscotti been purchased in posh coffee shops and bakeries. I did not have pistachios, so I substituted slivered almonds. I am giving these away as gifts to my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Barnsley, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
First time I have ever made biscotti. Came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Only used 2 eggs. Did not put in pistachios. I did put in a bit of lemon extract. If the dough is sticky, just add a bit more flour. More flour can't hurt it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I made these, following the recipe to a T. The only difference I did was I made the dough into 3 batches instead of 2. Delicious! I would make this again and again, I had no issues with crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Oh man, am i disappointed, the flavor was ok but...well, this is not my first time making biscottis, actually we've been making these for years and years at home, so i'm not inexperienced. The dough was extremely sticky (after 3 hours in the freezer) and the resulting logs were crumbly. I followed the recipe to a T, so i guess there was something wrong with the metric conversions. Anyway, i'm not giving this another try, i'll stick to my old recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States