Spring Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I had some trouble with them crumbling after the first bake when trying to slice them. But I think they may have been too soft & the shape not quite flat enough. Anyway squished them back into shape & baked again. Turned out good in the end and tasted great. My first attempt at Biscotti so will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made the Biscotti Toscani recipe a few days ago and then this one tonight, and I most definitely prefer the other recipe. While this one is alright, I found the logs difficult to slice after the first bake.. Maybe it was because of all the chunks of dried fruit and nuts.. Who knows. I like the idea of the flavours in this recipe (I used lemon in place of orange, and cherries in place of the cranberries), but will definitely go back to the Biscotti Toscani recipe as opposed to this one, and use it as the base, varying the fruits and nuts. Also, I didn't like that you had to chill the dough for a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petit Pastry Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Creston, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I had my doubts about this because I've used an old Italian biscotti recipe for the business that I own, no other recipes were anywhere near as delicious.....but this one was fantastic! I will need to change a few minor things, but as written it makes a mighty tasty biscotti with a great texture! many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RondaRDH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Wow!! these are AMAZING!! this is the first time my biscotti did not crumble apart when i was slicing them! The first time I followed the recipe exactly and they were awsome and since then I usually just use whatever I have on hand... They come out perfect every time!! The white chocolate is really esential because it makes them the perfect amount of sweetness! I can go on and on about these because they are just PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Just incredible! The only change I made was to use dried cherries that needed using up, the biscotti is the perfect texture and looks so pretty. I made a double batch for a teacher supper on conference day, and a couple of the teachers tracked down which parent made the biscotti and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I just finished making these biscotti---my kitchen smells divine! If people knew how easy it is to make them you would never by a packaged kind. I did make some changes though as I always tweak something a bit. I added 1/2 tsp almond extract in addition to the vanilla, which I increased to 1 full teaspoon. Also, I added 4oz white chocolate and reduced the pistachios to one cup. Shelled pistachios are not that hard to find---if you live near a Trader Joe's they have them. This is a truly delicious biscotti and not hard to make, just have a sharp knife and cut straight down so you can minimize them crumbling on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Very tasty- this is why I don't bake too often, cause these are very tempting. Husband loved them but actually liked them better before I twice baked them. He liked it more like a cookie. You might want to try keeping some of them this way to see which way your family likes them better. Mine were a little crumbly and some of them broke but those were the taste testers :) I also put some white chocolate chips on one side as soon as they came out of the oven, which melted them and then you can spread for a thin frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Three words: Ah. May. Zing. These were pitch-perfect in every possible way! I made them without the nuts, since it was for a shower, and many can't eat them. I had made a cookie bar with 17 varieties for the guests to take home as favors. The absolute only kind that went completely was the biscotti! I painted the flat side with melted white chocolate, and for presentation, stood them on end in a tall crystal vase. Perfectly crunchy with a fresh, clean taste. My nonno and nonna would have loved these with their afternoon espresso. Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
superb! Changed only a few add-ons. Sub'd a couple of chopped chunks of chocolate, chopped & toasted almonds for the white choc & pistachio nuts. Didn't use cranberries. Baked for nearly 25 vs. 15 minutes to get them nicely crispy. BTW, they will crisp after cooling so just look for a light brown edge which will make it perfect for coffee dunking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liza
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe was very good and very adaptable. Instead of pistachios, I used toasted whole almonds and instead of cranberries, I used chopped dried apricots. I kept the orange zest in, and they are lovely. I did not need to out the dough in the fridge before shaping the logs, but I did lightly dust the dough with some flour. I put them straight into the oven from there. They did take longer to toast than specified, but ovens can vary. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States