Spring Asparagus Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Everyone loved this and the crunchy cold asparagus was a nice change from a green bean or broocoli salad. I will be making again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. The trick is to not over cook the asparagus-3 minutes was plenty. I also added some diced red Thai peppers for color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
YUM!! Didn't change a thing-- Just subbed all sesame oil since I didn't have peanut oil. Kept a close watch on the asparagus and their perfect crunch and the amazing blend of flavors have me already looking forward to the leftovers I'm going to have for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Nice as something different to do with Asparagus. Nice Asian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great dressing; neither too tangy nor too sweet (I dislike both those attributes). Vibrant green color if you don’t overcook it. Lovely salad, one I think I’d also like with another vegetable – possibly green beans or zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I know it's not spring and asparagus is not at its peak in December, but the 99 cent store had a lot of it so I bought 2 large bunches. That said, I was very careful not to over cook the asparagus, as other reviewers seemed to have problems with the timing. I left off the peanut oil to save a few fat grams and we liked the dressing just fine without it. This was a nice fresh-tasting salad and it was refreshing to eat fresh asparagus in December. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Have made this several times. Always gets rave reviews. Only change I made is that I roast the asparagus (400 for about 12-15 min) with a little olive oil and sea salt. I then reduce the peanut oil to 1 TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this exactly as written for a bbq I was throwing. I chose it because of all the great reviews. I was very disappointed. Luckily I made this early in the day so I had time to run out and buy more asparagus because I threw the batch made with this recipe out. 3 minutes is WAY too long to boil the asparagus. I boiled for 3 minutes then added to an ice bath and the asparagus was very very soggy. I knew at that point I had to remake it but I figured I would try out the dressing on my 1st batch before throwing out just to to test out the dressing. Awful. The dressing was very bland and tasted like plain oil. For my 2nd attempt I added the asparagus to the boiling water and cooked for 1 minute then added to an ice bath. I still think this was a tad too long but much better. I tossed out the dressing from this recipe as well and ended up just using some bottled balsamic dressing. I suggest boiling just 1 or 2 asparagus spears to find out the cooking time that suits your taste before cooking the whole bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Loved it! The only thing I did differently was to sub agave nectar for sugar and I used all sesame oil (some guests had peanut allergies). Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Over all not a bad recipe at all... definately a different take on asparagus... I didn't have all the exact ingredients so I had to make some substitutes that could have been why I didn't find anything special about this recipe but it still tasted good... gotta love aparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States