Spoon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
After having made similar cookies into shapes, this recipe is as good with much less time. And the taste is just as good as other Italian Cookies with less work. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garfield Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
These were good and freezed well, too. I think they may be even better if you substituted almond extract for the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
These have a nice texture, but the flavor is a little bland. They need some salt to offset the sugar, and next time I'd try some different extracts, like anise or orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
Really GREAT cookie. I added chocolate chips to the dough and skipped the icing. My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
These cookies taste wonderful! Very easy recipe and the results are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Add a teaspoon of anise instead of vanilla to the mix and you will love these cookies even more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
very good and very easy to work with dough. I think next time I will use another frosting though did not care for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
I needed a recipe for a bridal shower I was catering and the only thing they said they wanted was "Italian cookies" - so I hunted and tried this one - it's amazing! The cookies are nice and moist and if you add some flavoring to the icing, they are even better! I used a dual-handled ice cream scoop and they came out in perfect mounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
These cookies were decent, but not as flavorful as I had hoped. The good news is that I was able to rescue them with a PERFECT icing recipe: combine 5 C. confectionary sugar, 6 Tbs water, 1 1/2 Tbs fresh lemon juice and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Mix all ingredients in a saucepan over low heat. Dip cookie tops in icing and let the extra drip back into the pan. Also, I noticed that you really must let these cookies bake all the way through. Otherwise, they will be shrivelled on the top rather than full and round. They also get hard very fast, so either store them or eat them asap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I made these at Christmas and put them on platters of cookies I give away to family and friends. They were easy to make, and because you can decorate them without a lot of effort, they looked great on the platters. They coud be decorated for any occasion, not just Christmas. They were not too sweet, and I will be making them again next year! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States