Spoon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
See, my family and I mostly came from Southern Italy, and we do kind of the same thing. The frosting and sprinkles are exactly the same. However, if you really want flavor, we use anise in our batches. It's a bit more complicated than this recipe, mainly because it takes over 45 minutes to stir the dough (it's in a gigantic bowl. And since we use a lot of anise and make over 300 cookies, it is an expensive recipe. Plus, it's all handiwork. You mix the dough with your hands, and we make twisty shapes and swirls with the dough. It's a family event that takes (at the maximum) two days! The baking time is pretty much the same though. Basically, this recipe is for someone who is leaning towards the traditional cookie, but doesn't have the time to do the hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
At our house we call these the "Play-dough" cookies. That is fairly close to what they taste like...bland although less salty than the namesake. Right out of the oven they taste like a bland sugar cookie with some egg flavor. Over time they lose the egg flavor and become, therefore, more bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These are a great simple cookie and I loved them with almond flavored frosting. I usually make frosting with a little butter, powder sugar, milk and vanilla. So I just changed the vanilla to almond and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
my family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Klein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These were great! So easy to make i will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These were really good! I looked for a recipe to make with my niece, she just wanted 'cookies with sprinkles'. The plain cookie was pretty plain but not bad, the icing made them just right in my opinion. I did use almond in the icing too but that's the only change we made. We really had fun making these! BTW she mostly made them with me over-seeing, and she decorated them entirely on her own. I am not the best decorator but I probably would have done better than these lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
so good like others I added almond. they were gone so fast and my boyfriend raved about them to everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Just delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I Loved these cookies I just added a little more butter >SoftnesssweetnessCook time a litle longer 3-6 mins moretook me 30 min. for the frist batch to be done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sierra Pugliano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kewanee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I made these at Christmas and put them on platters of cookies I give away to family and friends. They were easy to make, and because you can decorate them without a lot of effort, they looked great on the platters. They coud be decorated for any occasion, not just Christmas. They were not too sweet, and I will be making them again next year! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States