Spool Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Does it really mean 1 cup of oil AND 1 cup of margarine...? I used both in the spirit of following a recipe, but when I took the dough out of the fridge, it was really greasy and filled with pools of oil. I drained as much as I could by turning it upside down over another bowl, and just wrapped each ball of dough in a paper towel before putting it on the cookie sheet and didn't grease the sheet. Aside from the oil mayhem (worked wonders for my cuticles though) (just kidding), the cookies turned out great! They were light and crispy and chewy all in one, and not at all too sweet, and entirely adorable. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
great recipe! the only reason it got 4 stars is because it was WAY too oily. i have made this recipe twice now, and the second time i only used 1/2 c. margerine and 1/2 cup oil and they turned out PERFECT! great tasting and fun looking cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My daughter and I made these a couple of days ago and thought they were fun to make and delicious. Using the 36 serving batch, I substituted the 1cup margarine with 1 cup butter and only used 1/2 cup of oil instead of the 1 cup the recipe asked for. We did not need to refrigerate the dough either. Will make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
These taste fantastic, crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. They look beautiful too. I added a drop of red food coloring to the center of the "flower" for a splash of color. The only change I made was to the ingredients was to use 2/3 cup butter in place of the margarine, because it was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Oh what fun... I just love the flower design. I have been making this cookie for many years. AKA "Amish Sugar Cookies". Because the dough is so soft though, I found if I use 4 3/4 cups of flour, the dough is a bit easier to handle and refrigeration isn't necessary. I always used to flatten the cookies with a fork, in the old, boring, crisscross pattern used for peanut butter cookies. Using the thread spool just makes a wonderful cookie look even better. And since they say "we eat first with our eyes" maybe the flower design makes them taste even better too... LOL Thank you, Jacquie, for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and found these to still be very oily. Overall a good cookie, but my regular rolled sugar cookie recipe is tastier, so to change it up, I think I'll use that recipe and press them with a spool. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miranda
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These cookies are cute as hell and really really really delicious. I'm going to become a family hero, and it's all because of these lovely white cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
I tried this recipe because I had limited resouces in the kitchen and no butter to make my usual sugar cookies. I was pleasantly suprised by both the taste and delicate texture of these cookies. Also the spool print did make a nice addition to the look of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I should have listened to my instincts. This recipe was too oily. I would suggest using a solid such as butter, margarine, or crisco in place of the oil; or at least cut back on the oil. The flavor is good. Thank you Jacquie Whitney for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I didn't like it at ALL! because there were margarine and cream of tartar and lots of full fat foods! i actually knew that it was gonna turn into a wow next time I make them beacuse i used 1/2 cup of matgarine and a little bit less from cream of tartar! i recommend u try them this way but still very interesting recipe AT THE END!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zappet

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States