Spool Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have been looking for a nice, sweet (but not too sweet), melt in your mouth sugar cookie for years. My boyfriend loves sugar cookies, but I could never find just the right one until now. This is the perfect sugar cookie, even if you over bake it just a little, the cookie is crisp, but not hard. It still melts in your mouth. The only thing I changed was I used almond extract instead of vanilla. I didn't bake all the dough. I made the rest into balls and stored them in the fridge so my boyfriend can have fresh cookies throughout the week. Love these cookies. These will definitely be added to the family cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
CUTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
very delicious and so easy to make! i've done plain and also added cherries, kisses, or sprinkles to the centers and they always turn out fantastic! my husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and found these to still be very oily. Overall a good cookie, but my regular rolled sugar cookie recipe is tastier, so to change it up, I think I'll use that recipe and press them with a spool. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
The best soft sugar cookie ever. Kids love to help put the "flower" on top. A real hit with everyone. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Oh what fun... I just love the flower design. I have been making this cookie for many years. AKA "Amish Sugar Cookies". Because the dough is so soft though, I found if I use 4 3/4 cups of flour, the dough is a bit easier to handle and refrigeration isn't necessary. I always used to flatten the cookies with a fork, in the old, boring, crisscross pattern used for peanut butter cookies. Using the thread spool just makes a wonderful cookie look even better. And since they say "we eat first with our eyes" maybe the flower design makes them taste even better too... LOL Thank you, Jacquie, for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miranda
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These cookies are cute as hell and really really really delicious. I'm going to become a family hero, and it's all because of these lovely white cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
So good! The cookie is so delicate and crispy! Melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Does it really mean 1 cup of oil AND 1 cup of margarine...? I used both in the spirit of following a recipe, but when I took the dough out of the fridge, it was really greasy and filled with pools of oil. I drained as much as I could by turning it upside down over another bowl, and just wrapped each ball of dough in a paper towel before putting it on the cookie sheet and didn't grease the sheet. Aside from the oil mayhem (worked wonders for my cuticles though) (just kidding), the cookies turned out great! They were light and crispy and chewy all in one, and not at all too sweet, and entirely adorable. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
These taste fantastic, crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. They look beautiful too. I added a drop of red food coloring to the center of the "flower" for a splash of color. The only change I made was to the ingredients was to use 2/3 cup butter in place of the margarine, because it was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States