Spool Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Great recipe, I did modify it a bit. I used butter instead of margerine and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My daughter and I made these a couple of days ago and thought they were fun to make and delicious. Using the 36 serving batch, I substituted the 1cup margarine with 1 cup butter and only used 1/2 cup of oil instead of the 1 cup the recipe asked for. We did not need to refrigerate the dough either. Will make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Having no real reason to bake during the Holidays anymore, because I live alone, I decided to cheer myself up and putter in the kitchen Xmas Eve. Couldn't find my usual recipe so I dropped in here for a 'second best'. Well, there is nothing 'second best' about this cookie! First, it was an easy recipe to follow. Second, every ingredient can be found in most kitchens. Third, instead of getting fancy with the spool idea, I just lightly flatten each ball with the bottom of my measuring cup. Since I was going to ice them with my 'secret' frosting, I didn't even bother to coat the press with sugar as was called for. I did watch carefully as they baked because I have an oven that thinks on its own and I didn't want to make them too dry or crisp. Once they were cooled and iced, I ate the best sugar cookie I've ever eaten. Even without the icing, they are moist, delicate with just a hint of sweet sugar. Hmmm, hmmm, GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Delicious!!! Very simple to make. I made the mistake of not reading the entire recipe before making them, and didn't have time to chill the dough like it said. They were still really good, but for some reason, they tasted better the next day. My friends were amazed that I made them with a spool! Oh, you really want to dip the spool in powdered suger between each press. I dipped it direct in the bag. Real easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
great recipe! the only reason it got 4 stars is because it was WAY too oily. i have made this recipe twice now, and the second time i only used 1/2 c. margerine and 1/2 cup oil and they turned out PERFECT! great tasting and fun looking cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Easy, not too sweet and fool-proof to make. The texture was great at an 8 minute bake, but bear in mind, every oven is different. Almond flavoring was substituted for the vanilla. I rolled them in regular white sugar as the recipe calls for as well as red and green sugars (separately). I'm sure one could add food coloring to the dough for variation. I think one could make these year round for various holidays or even for every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These are by far the best sugar cookies I've ever eaten, and the first I've ever made. They had just the right sweetness and texture. I did try to make shapes, not knowing they would spread so much, but they still tasted good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Wonderful! I made these exactly the way the recipe was written and they turned out great! definately a must-have recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jovi  K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My family went nuts for these! The perfect weight and texture, fluffy and sweet. The design was cute as can be. I am making them as Christmas gifts in painted flower pots this year. I, too, added another 3/4- 1 cup of flour and didn't have to chill dough! Perfection! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States