Spool Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Overall great taste but they are very greasy so I recommend less oil. Also, they didn't rise much in the oven so they were very thin. But still, the taste is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Good buttery cookie. I don't think the spool is necessary, but adds a fun little twist. Of course, you'd have to flatten it with something else instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Such a fun recipe and so easy too! As far as using margarine and oil is concerned, this recipe is almost identical to the "Amish Sugar Cookie" recipe also on this site which I have been making for years and love. If you want, the oil can be subbed for applesauce, but it does make it cakier and I am not sure the pattern will be as distinct. Making this tocay, I did reduce the oil to a 1/2 cup and the flour to 4 cups and had no trouble. It was still a little oily on my hands, but honestly it didn't taste oily at all. I love this and I will definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I didn't like it at ALL! because there were margarine and cream of tartar and lots of full fat foods! i actually knew that it was gonna turn into a wow next time I make them beacuse i used 1/2 cup of matgarine and a little bit less from cream of tartar! i recommend u try them this way but still very interesting recipe AT THE END!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zappet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Maybe it was just my carelessness, but i thought it was way too oily. I used this recipe for a pie crust, and I forgot to omit the baking powder/soda, so it turned out looking like a big, yummy pancake! It tasted wonderful though...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 0ver0bsessed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I should have listened to my instincts. This recipe was too oily. I would suggest using a solid such as butter, margarine, or crisco in place of the oil; or at least cut back on the oil. The flavor is good. Thank you Jacquie Whitney for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These really have a fantastic flavour and are super-easy to make. Unlike other reviewers, I did not find the dough overly oily. However I did make the mistake of following one reviewer's advice and adding more flour, because I didn't have time to chill the dough. The cookies turned out cakier than I think they would otherwise have, and they were not as pretty because the edges cracked. Followed exactly, I am sure I would have had the same pretty cookies as in the picture. I should also have looked for a different spool. The one I used made it look like my cookies had the symbol for radioactivity on them! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
these are awesome cookies! a new favorite to make with my little granddaughter. i've been saving up empty spools so that i can make these, make gift plates of them, attach the recipe and a spool to go with it. it's a really lovely cookie and a fun process to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Great recipe, I did modify it a bit. I used butter instead of margerine and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My daughter and I made these a couple of days ago and thought they were fun to make and delicious. Using the 36 serving batch, I substituted the 1cup margarine with 1 cup butter and only used 1/2 cup of oil instead of the 1 cup the recipe asked for. We did not need to refrigerate the dough either. Will make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States