Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura M
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made these cookies for my son's school party and they were a great hit. We added green food coloring to the dough and when I took them out of the oven I added a single chocolate chip for a wart. We also added red gel food coloring for the severed end of the finger. The cookies do enlarge when baked (almost double the thickness) so make sure you don't make them to round when you are rolling them out. The cookie flavor was good on top of looking great, thanks for a fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
538 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Great recipe! Instead of using decorator gel, I dipped each almond in strawberry jam, and pressed them into the raw "finger" tip before baking... produced very gory results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I have been making this dessert every year for my annual Halloween party for the last 10 yrs. I don't use wax paper to shape the fingers, just my well-washed hands. I then use a sharp knife to cut in the knuckles and finger lines, dipped in hot water between cuts. Also, I add the red gel frosting to the base of the fingers as if they've been pulled out of their socket - gross! That way, you don't have to mess with the almonds. You can also add chocolate chips to them right after they come out of the oven to add flavor and "warts". Lots of great feedback ever year, my guests now expect to see them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I use the Canadian Living Cooks witch finger recipe (pretty much the same), but I thought I'd let you know that if you don't have red gel, I simply use raspberry jam (just a touch) and then put the almond "nail" on top to let the jam ooze out a bit. It bakes just fine. And do make sure you let the dough chill, because one time I was impatient and they became very fat witch fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Punga

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is a cool recipe. I am not a fan of sugar cookies so I rated it a little higher that I really thought it should be (flavor wise) other wise I would have given it a 5 because it is such a good idea. When making the fingers you have to make them SUPER thin. About the size of your pinky finger in width (unless you have "man-hands" or are a man. My first batch was more like monster fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Split3ways

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I LOVE THESE!! One person talked about warts, so I tried to make some. Another person made them green, I loved that idea. So I had to try, this is what mine turned out like. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. The mice are cake balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
i have been making these treats for the past 10 years or so! i saw martha stewart making them on her show - she called them "severed fingers" and use her recipe (recipe varies). i just loved reading the reviews! this halloween i will use this recipe and follow other member's advice and make them green and w/chocolate chip "warts"! for the fingernails, i usually blanche the almonds - put in boiling water for 1 minute or so and then drain. when slightly cooled you can pop off the almond skin. when the blanched almonds are dry simply "paint" with red food coloring! use beaten egg white to brush over entire finger and to stick the finger nail on. hmmm - this just gave me an idea! i think i'll paint designs on the nails w/food coloring pens! thanks in advance for the new recipe and inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Photo by alohachris
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These are "grown-up" tasting cookies with a kid appearance....I sweetened them up with more sugar and frosting to both the fingernail and the bottom to make it red and bloody-looking. Sweet is the key with these cookies; if you follow the recipe, they are not that sweet. I loved them; so did my students.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
These were fun and pretty good. We have someone allergic to nuts so we used hot tamales instead of almonds. It was cute and a big hit, esp with the kiddos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I would have given it five star but I was not crazy about the flavor. I loved the look how ever. I found the easyest way to make the shape was to roll them in your hand and slightly, very slightly squeez them. Loved the look of them green and love the warts. Just wished the taste was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States