Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I have been making this dessert every year for my annual Halloween party for the last 10 yrs. I don't use wax paper to shape the fingers, just my well-washed hands. I then use a sharp knife to cut in the knuckles and finger lines, dipped in hot water between cuts. Also, I add the red gel frosting to the base of the fingers as if they've been pulled out of their socket - gross! That way, you don't have to mess with the almonds. You can also add chocolate chips to them right after they come out of the oven to add flavor and "warts". Lots of great feedback ever year, my guests now expect to see them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura M
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I made these cookies for my son's school party and they were a great hit. We added green food coloring to the dough and when I took them out of the oven I added a single chocolate chip for a wart. We also added red gel food coloring for the severed end of the finger. The cookies do enlarge when baked (almost double the thickness) so make sure you don't make them to round when you are rolling them out. The cookie flavor was good on top of looking great, thanks for a fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAMARA SHOOMAKE
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
My girls and I really enjoyed making these. They were very simple. Hard for the kids to mess up since they are crooked-y fingers. We will experiment more the next time with different fun ideas. I can also see how these are going to make excellent Christmas cookies when the season is upon us. I can't wait. Thanks for a fun time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
These were fun and pretty good. We have someone allergic to nuts so we used hot tamales instead of almonds. It was cute and a big hit, esp with the kiddos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
These are really fun. I did add green food coloring to the dough. I took a heaping teaspoon of dough and rolled it out by hand on waxed paper. I then cut the rope in two, getting two small cookies. These do "fatten up" as they cook. I also found out that if you pull a little dough up around the edges of the almond, the almond will not come off after cooling. No need to dip a small paring knife in hot water to make the "knuckle" indentations. Red gel can still be put around the "cuticle" area. I know these will be a hit at a Halloween fundraising bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe is really cool. Im always looking for something unique. I didnt have almond extract so I used rum extract. It taste pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I would have given it five star but I was not crazy about the flavor. I loved the look how ever. I found the easyest way to make the shape was to roll them in your hand and slightly, very slightly squeez them. Loved the look of them green and love the warts. Just wished the taste was better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Great recipe! Instead of using decorator gel, I dipped each almond in strawberry jam, and pressed them into the raw "finger" tip before baking... produced very gory results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made these tonight for Halloween and am very pleased. They were very easy to shape and turned out great. I used green food coloring as another reviewer suggested and didn't have red gel on hand so I used green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Sunderland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These were quite good but rather dry (like a light shortbread). I didn't take the almonds out because, even with the gel, I wasn't able to get them to go back in. I overheard several people at my party say they couldn't eat them because they looked too realistic! I'll probably make these again, in a different form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States