Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by laureen75
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Been making these for years. I think it's a shortbread cookie, rather than a sugar cookie. Few tips: 2 3/4 c flour helps them spread less and works much better. If you want them to really look like fingers you must roll them very skinny. Sliced almonds look much better and more realistic. You can put knuckle lines in the lower middle and upper finger area for a more realistic look as well as pinching the same areas first to create an actual boney knuckle. These tips make these look so realistic people often don't want to eat them! But they do :) I'm asked every year to make these! I was finally able to upload a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night for our Halloween Dessert Contest at work today. Watching the demo was very helpful and I took the suggestions to refrigerate the cookies themselves for 10-15 minutes before baking and to rotate the cookie sheets halfway through the baking process. I agree that the dough must be very chilled to roll out and keep its shape. I would recommend checking the cookies at 20 minutes because I kept mine in for 22 and I think it was a bit too long. I would also add less salt and a bit more sugar. Be very careful when putting in the red gel because the cookies are delicate and can break easily. I made half green batter using food coloring. The cookies came out great and I love the almond taste. Reminds me of my grandma's butter twist cookies that we used to dunk in coffee! I am presenting the cookies on a skeleton plate with a plastic spider wine glass filled with strawberry spread with some fingers sticking out. Maybe next time I will use sliced almonds and some black gel along with the red and shred the ends of the fingers like some reviewers suggested. The possibilites are endless! These are really yummy cookies with a ghoulish touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made these today and they turned out amazing! I just wouldn't add the gel. I used strawberry jam instead. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The cute factor put these over the top. I liked the taste of the cookies, but I have a recipe that I actually like better that I think I will use next time. That said, the final product was REALLY cute! I put a drop of green food coloring (everyone knows witches have a green pallor to their skin), and used the red jel under the "fingernail" and on the "severed" end of the fingers. Everyone was a bit taken aback at first and then they laughed. No one refused to eat them. Great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The dough was really sticky and hard to roll. They also had no flavor very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These turned out fabulously but our first batch didn't keep their shape and spread out too much. The two keys to success I found were to keep the batter really cold and roll out the fingers thin. Once we did that, the fingers kept their shape quit well. I added 1/2 cup of sugar and used 2 tsp of almond extract instead of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
ADORABLE! MADE THESE FOR A HALLOWEEN PARTY AND THEY WERE A HIT!! THEY ARE AS TASTY AS THEY ARE CUTE!! VERY FUN TO MAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made them just now. Even if the dough was in the freezer for over an hour, the dough would get super sticky when i rolled it into a ball. I had to cut them like biscotti. I had to raise the temperature to 200'C and yet they still pretty much melted. They're kinda sandy as you eat and a bit greasy. Rating only 3 because of the look, otherwise they're delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Just finished the cookies. Followed the recipe exactly as written, only thing I did different was instead of a whole almond for the finger nails,I used sliced almonds. awesome cookie. thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
followed directions. cookies went flat,no shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States