Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Way too bland. Not enough sugar. Tastes like a shortbread. The appearance was cute but not really edible. Also, since the dough grows in the oven, a note should be made to make them thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These are so great! I just use red food colouring on the base so it looks like blood and I serve them on white napkins that have been splashed with red food colouring... gory and absolutely perfect. My son mentioned that all I had was white fingers so I added cocoa powder to a batch and had lovely fingers of colour. And they are just so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These cookies were a hit at my son's Halloween-themed birthday party. I substituted cinnamon for the almond extract and they turned out great! I used some red food colouring to make the fingers look bloodier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
What a fun recipe to make! My daughter and I had so much fun making these. I read some reviews about saltiness, so I used unsalted butter and used only 1/2 tsp of salt. My daughter did not like them (they are probably not sweet enough for most kids) but I loved them. They are amazing with a cup of tea. I even used green food dye for some of the batter and they turned out great. Next time I would add the dye to the whole batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Made these last year for our local "Trunk or Treat" party at our neighborhood market/post office/gas station/cafe where we all back in around the perimeter of the parking lot & hand out safe treats to the kids from the trunks of our cars or pick-up beds. The adults bring cookies & other baked goodies while our hostess provides hot cider & cocoa mix packets, hot water & coffee. Added a little green food coloring to the dough just for fun(they turned out awesome looking). These cookies disappeared like magic & I kept hearing "Who made those finger cookies? The ones with the almonds...I want the recipe!" Truth be told I tasted one & had a really hard time staying out of them long enough to get them to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I make these cookies every Halloween and they are always a hit! Fun to make, cute, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arretederaler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bp102164
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
These were fun to make! The store was out of red gel, so I used black. Came out just as creepy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bp102164

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
previously added a review. However, here is a warning. I put the dough I did not have time to cook in fridge and it got way too hard. Don't know what I was thinking-of course the butter hardened up. Also, got way fewer than 60 cookies. Can soften dough by leaving on counter for a few hours if you get it too hard. The green look really disgusting-perfect for halloween
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
They were beautiful til I put them in the oven!! They spread out into each other!! So disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marieclaire0924
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These were awesome, I accidentally made one batch a little too big so they looked more like ogre fingers but the second batch was the perfect size. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States