Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Kristyl Heidenreich Sutter
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for a party with some changes. I used coconut flavoring instead of rum and cherry pie filling in place of the red food gel. I used Splenda instead of white sugar and like most folks I added an extra 1/2 cup. I also dressed them up with green food color and alternated half with almond sliver finger nails painted with yellow food coloring and half with dried cranberry "scabs". Very creepy result! The reason I gave this recipe a 4 was that baking them was a chore. When the butter gets warm, the cookies spread/swell when you cook them. To keep them petite, you need to roll them very very thin, chilling them before baking, OR roll and bake in small batches, keeping the dough as cold as possible. I think all together I took more than 2 hours to roll, bake and decorate these cookies. Towards the end, I got tired and made some "bloody eye balls" by rolling the dough in to a ball, making a depression with my thumb and filling it with cherry pie filling. Tasty and creepy! Next year I may make more of those and less of the fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristyl Heidenreich Sutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by E C Kelly
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Cookies turned out looking great. Were very easy (and fun) to make. My only complaint is that, after using salted butter plus the added salt in the recipe, the cookie itself was a bit salty. Next time I will make with unsalted butter, or omit the extra salt. But otherwise a fantastic idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
These are GREAT! Some said not sweet enough so I tasted before I baked to check sweetness. Super fun to do with family. We will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jeanwrap
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Ahhh these were so awesome to make and they were delicious! It was actually probably one of the best almost shortbread recipe I've come across and it cooked perfectly. I added green dye to it which gave it a nice green hue, with the red gel. Very easy to shape and the knuckles were a super creepy and awesome effect. Brought it to a Halloween party (makes about 60) and they went fast and people loved it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These had a great flavor. The dough needs to be chilled so it doesn't turn into a fat, flat finger. Also a whole almond seemed to be too much. A halved almond or slivered almonds were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Wallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sephome
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
While the cookies aren't especially sweet...they are very tasty! I added 'blood' to the ends of mine with cream cheese icing dyed red. They were a huge hit at the party I took them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sephome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
The cookies themselves are delicious! I followed the recipe but used slivered almonds for the fingernail. The decorator gel sets if you refrigerate them. For presentation, I wrapped 4 fingers in squares of roughly cut cheese cloth and then put them in a clear plastic bag and tied with raffia. Very creepy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Awesome! Yummy, morbidly cool, and great for parties. These cookies will be an annual treat from now on. Thanks Sandra! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Photo by Mo
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made spooky fingers on Halloween party and many kids loved them. Those fingers looked so real and some kids were scared to eat'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I have made this recipe twice now, and I feel that the second batch was a lot better. I made both batches, two different years for Halloween. This last time, I got a lot of compliments, and most all of them are gone. I feel better about my cooking now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krecklaulydia
Home Town: Pine River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States