Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made these today and they turned out amazing! I just wouldn't add the gel. I used strawberry jam instead. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The cute factor put these over the top. I liked the taste of the cookies, but I have a recipe that I actually like better that I think I will use next time. That said, the final product was REALLY cute! I put a drop of green food coloring (everyone knows witches have a green pallor to their skin), and used the red jel under the "fingernail" and on the "severed" end of the fingers. Everyone was a bit taken aback at first and then they laughed. No one refused to eat them. Great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The dough was really sticky and hard to roll. They also had no flavor very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These turned out fabulously but our first batch didn't keep their shape and spread out too much. The two keys to success I found were to keep the batter really cold and roll out the fingers thin. Once we did that, the fingers kept their shape quit well. I added 1/2 cup of sugar and used 2 tsp of almond extract instead of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
ADORABLE! MADE THESE FOR A HALLOWEEN PARTY AND THEY WERE A HIT!! THEY ARE AS TASTY AS THEY ARE CUTE!! VERY FUN TO MAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made them just now. Even if the dough was in the freezer for over an hour, the dough would get super sticky when i rolled it into a ball. I had to cut them like biscotti. I had to raise the temperature to 200'C and yet they still pretty much melted. They're kinda sandy as you eat and a bit greasy. Rating only 3 because of the look, otherwise they're delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Just finished the cookies. Followed the recipe exactly as written, only thing I did different was instead of a whole almond for the finger nails,I used sliced almonds. awesome cookie. thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
followed directions. cookies went flat,no shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These taste great. I made them for a Halloween party and as someone else mentioned, added green food coloring. I also did some red icing on the ends. They were a big hit but some of the kids would not try them because they looked too real :-) I didn't add them but mini chocolate chips would make good warts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mayette
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made them now and it's good! It's so easy to handle. I followed the suggestion of some...to make it like your pinkies only since it'll get big. Just the right size I wanted. And I made some changes to it. I didn't add almond extract but instead added some lime zest since I ran out of lemons. I think I'll add more zest next time. So far it's good....but, EEEEEW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States