Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These taste great. I made them for a Halloween party and as someone else mentioned, added green food coloring. I also did some red icing on the ends. They were a big hit but some of the kids would not try them because they looked too real :-) I didn't add them but mini chocolate chips would make good warts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mayette
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made them now and it's good! It's so easy to handle. I followed the suggestion of some...to make it like your pinkies only since it'll get big. Just the right size I wanted. And I made some changes to it. I didn't add almond extract but instead added some lime zest since I ran out of lemons. I think I'll add more zest next time. So far it's good....but, EEEEEW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Because I knew there was a strong possibility there would be someone that would have a nut allergy, I left off the almonds on the fingertips. Instead, I used strawberry fruit rolls and cut the fingernails with a small cookie cutter. I did not use the addition of red decorating gel around the knuckles or fingertips as this can be upsetting to the little ghosts. I did melt a few chocolate chips and used a toothpick to make the indentations on the knuckles. I used the Wilton Witches Finger Cookie Molds and followed the recipe with the exception of adding 2 3/4 cups of flour. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My 5yo niece and I made these yesterday and had a blast! Added green food color to about half the dough. The green fingers had almond fingernails and on the white fingers we used green pistachios for the fingernails. Followed the recipe as posted and the cookies were extremely salty (otherwise I would have given 5 stars!). If you use salted butter, cut the salt to 1/4-1/2 teaspoon. Unsalted butter should be fine with 3/4 to 1 teaspoon of salt though. I also noticed comments after the fact about rolling the cookies smaller because they expand when they bake. We actually ended up with large ogre-like fingers but they were still good! Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by admoore72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was great, I added 1/2 sugar to make it sweeter and I also used black icing to set the almond and paint the nails with a make-up brush, after baking. my baking powder may have been old because they didn't grow much. I used a fork to shred the end and applied drops of red food coloring to make it look severed. My kids think they are awesome! I kept the batter in the fridge overnight, definitely made rolling the fingers out easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
My 8-yr old grandson and I made these. They are a royal pain in the neck. But the result is really cute! I used blackberry jelly to dress them up after they were done and left them in the fridge to harden the jam some. Looked like real blood! I spread the dough just a little over the almond slices (not whole ones) to keep them on a little better. If the dough gets the least bit warm, its a mess & you have chill it again. Think I might use a sugar cookie dough next time, my grandson didn't care for the taste of these, but really cute! I liked the flavor, and adult tasting cookie, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I loved this recipe! Very good but a little bland and too much salt. To give it more flavor in my next batch, I used 1 tablespoon of vanilla and 1 tablespoon of Almond extract. I reduced the salt to half a teaspoon and instead of using a full cup of confectioner's sugar, I used half confectioner's and half brown sugar. Overall a great recipe and with adjustments, a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
They are easy to make and look really cool, I took others' advise and used jam instead of red dye. But the recipe called for way too much flour as well as salt, in my opinion. I felt this while I was making it, but really wanted them to turn out right, so I ignored my instincts. Big mistake, my hubby warned me! I still have some dough left, I am going to add some things to see if it turns out better the second time around. Really tasty with frosting, but doesn't look right. Thank you for the recipe, though! My kiddos are very excited about all the Halloween treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I had this cookies at a Halloween party last year. They were yummy and perfect for Halloween. My little granddaughter is allergic to tree nuts. So the almonds are a no-no. Does anyone have a suggestion for an alternative? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made this for the guys at work and they were gone within an hour! I guess that means they were a hit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States