Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by natalie
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
OMGosh!!! These were the best!!! SO much fun. I can say, that these will be repeat offenders every year now for Halloween. My kids laughed so hard and found them way cool. And got told, I was the best! Shining the apple on my shoulder ;-) I did skip direction #3 because I had already purchased Wilton Spooky Eyes Candy and made a great stand-out impression on the treat and with my family. TY so much.....great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This recipe as is doesn't work too good. The peanut butter balls were mush. The chocolate is best melted in a double boiler, as the microwave did not work out. I wasted a bag of nestle's white chocolate chips trying to melt in the microwave. I did not add shortening to chocolate, as chocolatiers tell you not to mix anything in chocolate when you melt it. I would not attempt these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Bivona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
What a mess! I took the advice about adding rice crispies, and that was a great suggestion. It was cloyingly sweet! So I doubled the recipe WITHOUT adding more sugar, and that helped a lot. Trying to coat the eyeballs with white chocolate, even after the eyeballs were refrigerated, was an enormous challenge and a mess. But that was nothing compared to trying to put "irises" on the eyes with blue chocolate. I ended up finishing about 14 eyeballs. It doesn't matter if they taste okay, they are a holy mess NOT WORTH THE TIME!!! And I was persistent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made these for a Halloween party, and they were a BIG hit. We have several friends who have trouble with gluten, so I used crushed Rice Chex instead of Rice Crispies, which have malt in them. Time consuming? Yes. Worth the trouble? Also yes. Someone suggested leaving a "tail" of white chocolate, as if the eyeball had been plucked out, but I used red, so it resembled veins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyAnneJT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
tried the this recipe used crunchy peanut butter and m&m for eyes and piping gel for the veins.i do recommend frezzing them before dipping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Just started making this recipe with my son. We've got the filling done so far and already can see it's going to go over well. (we had a small sample) Very easy and few ingredients. Perfect for me being practically kitchen illiterate. Greatfull for the recipe! Going to make ghosts tho instead of eyeballs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Excellent. Guests were in a sugar coma after these treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made these for my fiance's Halloween work poutluck. These were so easy to make and form into eyeballs. They weren't sticky at all and I recommend putting them in the freezer before working with them. The only issue I had was working with the white chocolate- I will not blame the recipe for that! I overheated it and it wasn't liquidy-velvety smooth. I was, however, able to save it and the final product looked impressive and tasted delicious. My fiance brought home an empty container- that speaks for itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
YAMMY candy..My 10 year old and I had so much fun making them.THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States