Spooky Halloween Eyeballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by natalie
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
OMGosh!!! These were the best!!! SO much fun. I can say, that these will be repeat offenders every year now for Halloween. My kids laughed so hard and found them way cool. And got told, I was the best! Shining the apple on my shoulder ;-) I did skip direction #3 because I had already purchased Wilton Spooky Eyes Candy and made a great stand-out impression on the treat and with my family. TY so much.....great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This recipe as is doesn't work too good. The peanut butter balls were mush. The chocolate is best melted in a double boiler, as the microwave did not work out. I wasted a bag of nestle's white chocolate chips trying to melt in the microwave. I did not add shortening to chocolate, as chocolatiers tell you not to mix anything in chocolate when you melt it. I would not attempt these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Bivona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
What a mess! I took the advice about adding rice crispies, and that was a great suggestion. It was cloyingly sweet! So I doubled the recipe WITHOUT adding more sugar, and that helped a lot. Trying to coat the eyeballs with white chocolate, even after the eyeballs were refrigerated, was an enormous challenge and a mess. But that was nothing compared to trying to put "irises" on the eyes with blue chocolate. I ended up finishing about 14 eyeballs. It doesn't matter if they taste okay, they are a holy mess NOT WORTH THE TIME!!! And I was persistent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made these for a Halloween party, and they were a BIG hit. We have several friends who have trouble with gluten, so I used crushed Rice Chex instead of Rice Crispies, which have malt in them. Time consuming? Yes. Worth the trouble? Also yes. Someone suggested leaving a "tail" of white chocolate, as if the eyeball had been plucked out, but I used red, so it resembled veins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyAnneJT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
tried the this recipe used crunchy peanut butter and m&m for eyes and piping gel for the veins.i do recommend frezzing them before dipping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Just started making this recipe with my son. We've got the filling done so far and already can see it's going to go over well. (we had a small sample) Very easy and few ingredients. Perfect for me being practically kitchen illiterate. Greatfull for the recipe! Going to make ghosts tho instead of eyeballs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Excellent. Guests were in a sugar coma after these treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made these for my fiance's Halloween work poutluck. These were so easy to make and form into eyeballs. They weren't sticky at all and I recommend putting them in the freezer before working with them. The only issue I had was working with the white chocolate- I will not blame the recipe for that! I overheated it and it wasn't liquidy-velvety smooth. I was, however, able to save it and the final product looked impressive and tasted delicious. My fiance brought home an empty container- that speaks for itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
YAMMY candy..My 10 year old and I had so much fun making them.THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States