Spooky Calzone Snake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by prttimecook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I submitted this recipe and want to add that I sometimes use pizza dough from the refrigerated section in the store to cut down on time. Then it's a breeze! Add or omit any "pizza toppings" you want to suit your taste. It's great for guests - just omit the colors and shape in a U.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My family loved this from the presentation to the taste. I used canadian bacon instead of pepperoni but it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe! my family scarfed this down and wanted more. My family loves sausage so i added some into the filling. I love this recipe partially for the fact that it is so adaptable. I will definiely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrogLover260
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Awesome idea for Halloween dinner! I omitted the ricotta cheese, since my crazy family won't eat it. Instead I added extra mozzarella and about 1/2 cup of sour cream. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogLover260

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I used pre-made pizza dough from Pilsbury. This is a great way to serve food to the kids any time. I made cheesburger calzones. The picky kids ate them right up. The egg was key in keeping it together. Next time I think I'll add bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great idea! Can also use this same technique and make a wreath for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I did not get this to work. I used refrigerated pizza crust dough from the store. I was lucky to roll it out to 12 inches and if fell apart as soon as I tried to pull the ends together. What a mess and such a disappointment.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is a great one to make with kids. My 5 year old loved it! Does take a long time to make so we did a little activity while it was rising. Used the bread machine to mix and rise the dough. Next time I will cut the ricotta cheese in half and use sausage with the pepperoni. Served it with pizza sauce for dipping. Will definitely make the dough again for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starlitwishes
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Made this for our family's annual Spooky Halloween feast...looked great! And we all enjoyed it. We changed the filling to fit our taste,including some olives and fresh red pepper, and omitting the ricotta cheese. We will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I love this recipe! We don't shape it like a snake though. I did make a few changes though. I always double the recipe. When i proof my yeast i use 1/2 cup of water and when it is time to add it to the flour and other ingredients i use 1 1/2 cups of warm milk (to replace the left out water) In the dough I add 3 cloves of fresh minced garlic, 1-2 tbsp of parsley and 1-2 tbsp Italian seasoning. In the cheese filling I add 2-3 more minced garlic cloves! (we like a lot of garlic) and about 1/2 cup of parm cheese. I like to keep the pepperoni separate from the cheese mixture. I put a thick layer of it on one side of the rolled out dough, then add the cheese mixture and close her up. They are delicious! And if there are any left overs, they taste really good cold the next day too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States