Spooky Calzone Snake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I absolutely love this calzone dough! We eat calzones at least twice a month and I always use this recipe. I've never done the egg coating at the end and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessie D.
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This calzone snake was alot of fun to make and taste great too! If my son had his way he would have me make "snake for dinner" every night. All in all this was alot of fun, taste great, and I definately will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My family has been making "the snake" for our Halloween dinner for years. In fact, one year I figured my kids had gotten too old for it and served something else...my family STRONGLY protested! I try to change the filling up every year. This recipe and the ham/cheese combo are our favorites. It seems like it takes awhile to make but that is just because you have to wait for the rise. Plan ahead and you wont have a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Tremendous fun to make & eat. I cheated & used a can of crescent roll for the dough (pinched together seams), then simply put a light layer of spaghetti sauce, followed by a single layer of turkey pepperoni & a generous sprinkling of shredded mozzarella. Used pastry brush to add diluted yellow food coloring to dough, then used diluted green food coloring to add spots & lines, dabbing gently with a paper towel to ensure green did not run. Even my incredibly picky daughter (who never eats) finished all her "Snake" AND salad (that is a huge compliment for me!). Great concept that can be made more easily using pre-made ingredients...great time-saver & inexpensive meal for a busy weeknight...have fun with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I too used the refrigerated pizza dough, I bought two of them to ensure I had enough and it was a hit! Disappeard at a Halloween party, so definitely will make again- I added a bit of pizza sauce to it, and used cottage cheese instead of ricotta- worked well and people seemed to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These were a cute idea, but my family really didn't care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I love this recipe! We don't shape it like a snake though. I did make a few changes though. I always double the recipe. When i proof my yeast i use 1/2 cup of water and when it is time to add it to the flour and other ingredients i use 1 1/2 cups of warm milk (to replace the left out water) In the dough I add 3 cloves of fresh minced garlic, 1-2 tbsp of parsley and 1-2 tbsp Italian seasoning. In the cheese filling I add 2-3 more minced garlic cloves! (we like a lot of garlic) and about 1/2 cup of parm cheese. I like to keep the pepperoni separate from the cheese mixture. I put a thick layer of it on one side of the rolled out dough, then add the cheese mixture and close her up. They are delicious! And if there are any left overs, they taste really good cold the next day too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Good foundation recipe, but needed more seasoning. My calzone split open because I didn't have a good seal, so it ended up looking like a calzone boat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermilion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I used refrigerated dough, and it turned out horrible. It stayed together for the most part, but it was too bready and bland. With a little adjusting I got it to look like a slug. Anyway, it was fun for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was so cute! I baked this with my sister on Halloween for something to eat before taking our kids trick-or-treating. We used refrigerated biscuit dough to make it quicker. It was fun! Next time I am going to try putting the pizza sauce inside and baking it with the rest. We all had fun eating this - even our husbands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kodak, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States