Spooky Calzone Snake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Laura Stephen
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I loved this idea! I didn't remember to come back on here and get the actual recipe you used though. I happened to have another All Recipes one on a cue card: Jay's Signature Pizza Crust, so used that as my crust and filled it with mozzarella, pepperoni and pizza sauce. I decorated my snake with watered down food colouring. While cooking, it exploded in a couple part, but we just it guts, and enjoyed it! Tasty, and a great addition to my Halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Came out really cute! I cheated and used Pilsbury pizza dough, and it was so easy! It comes out in a long layer, so you just stretch it and then stretch it width-wise a little, put the filling in the middle, and seal it up. I used egg whites with green food coloring to make a green snake. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was it was just a tad dry. It was probably me. I may have cooked it a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great idea! Can also use this same technique and make a wreath for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Paula Deene made this on her Food Network show in 2004.....they show repeats every year. She used Cresent Rolls for the body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I did not get this to work. I used refrigerated pizza crust dough from the store. I was lucky to roll it out to 12 inches and if fell apart as soon as I tried to pull the ends together. What a mess and such a disappointment.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prttimecook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I submitted this recipe and want to add that I sometimes use pizza dough from the refrigerated section in the store to cut down on time. Then it's a breeze! Add or omit any "pizza toppings" you want to suit your taste. It's great for guests - just omit the colors and shape in a U.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by FrogLover260
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Awesome idea for Halloween dinner! I omitted the ricotta cheese, since my crazy family won't eat it. Instead I added extra mozzarella and about 1/2 cup of sour cream. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogLover260

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My family loved this from the presentation to the taste. I used canadian bacon instead of pepperoni but it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is a great one to make with kids. My 5 year old loved it! Does take a long time to make so we did a little activity while it was rising. Used the bread machine to mix and rise the dough. Next time I will cut the ricotta cheese in half and use sausage with the pepperoni. Served it with pizza sauce for dipping. Will definitely make the dough again for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
It takes time to make but it is quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barberton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States